We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in Vienna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Paris, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great place in Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Radisson is ideally located to visit the historical center of Vienna, most points of interests are a stone thrown away from the hotel. Service is great, with friendly and efficient staff, especially at the reception and the breakfast restaurant. Club rooms are spacious with all amenities. Can only recommend this Radisson

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auditor_g-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Vienna and your stay with us and are honoured to have our staffmembers with us, which you mentioned. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oslo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Three women friends on our annual pre-christmas trip, decided to stay at the Radisson Blu Palais, and were not sorry about it! We had single rooms, and though small, they were comfortable and lacked nothing (apart from the one that had no view of the park - and was not as close to the two other rooms as we had requested).

When booking our rooms (through Expedia), it was confirmed that breakfast was included. However, at our arrival we were told that this was not the case, and we had to call Expedia to have them confirm it to the hotel. So we did, but later in the day we were informed that the hotel had not received the requested message from Expedia. Graciuosly enough, the receptionist took our word for it, and breakfast was included.

A small thing maybe, and at the end solved in a friendly way by the hotel - it was nevertheless an annoying start to our stay. I don't know who was to blame, the hotel or Expedia, but I hope they have a better communication in the future in order to avoid such discussions again.

Once that was solved, our stay proved to be very nice - the breakfast was lovely and the location of the hotel made it very easy for us to go back and relax (and get warm again!) after having strolled around in the freezing, inner city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the park - unless you are a light sleeper and wants to face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snehvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Snehvit,

thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay.

As we did have an issue with breakfast included and/or not caused by bad connection between Expedia/hotels.com and our reservation system, the wrong inclusion of breakfast of your booking has been taken care of by Expedia as the fault is known there.

As we discovered this issue sometimes during the past months, our reception employees are already entitled to alter charges like this in front of our guests and will be taken care of "behind the scenes".

Looking forward welcoming you soon again we remain

with best regards from Vienna


PS: Like us on facebook and receive up-to-date news & special offers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed a few night in December 2012. The simple description is that is it not a 5 star hotel. I would rate it 2.5 (although has never actually stayed in one). Room are shabby, and most of them are small! Our bathroom was tiny! Staff were lazy and rude! Free Internet did not work properly in a room - so I had to go to the lobby to get a connection. Breakfast did not have a good selection and you had to wait forever to get ( already cold) coffee.

So called free minibar did not have anything in it but beer and some soft drinks. And it was also DIRTY.

Toiletteries were of unidentified brand.

Health club I will not describe because it is below all UK standards.

On demand tv did not exist because the hotel had been changing tv system ( over the Christmas period!!). And the television set was very small and had only 2 (literally) channels in English.

Maids were very persistent trying to clean the room while we were there, in spite of "Do not disturb" sign.

We noticed dirty dishesh outside someone's door and those had been there for 3 days!

Christmas tree was removed from the lobby on 27 December- literally before I had a chance to take a picture. Is that an Austrian tradition?

The location was ok, it was central, but kind of on the border of the city centre, walking distance to most attractions. But location does not compensate for almost 300 Euros per night rate paid for this so called 5 star hotel.

I am sure All positive reviews are written by management as no guests in their right mind would have like that hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in Marriott :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariella0238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mariella 0238,

thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service and your expectations were not met.

We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services.

Concerning the removal of the christmas tree, please be kindly informed, that we decided to do so due to security & fire safety reasons, as December has been a very "warm" December and the tree was unusually dried out already shortly before Christmas eve.

We are continously training our housekeeping staff in order to prevent happenings as you described.

Also be kindly informed, that we don't spend time to write fake comments or reviews, rather than concentrate and train our staff to impress our guests by personal service.

We hope for another opportunity to at least meet if not exceed your expectations and remain

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Few minutes walk to the central of the city and good transportation to all other places like museums. The service is good but the breakfast or the wifi is not all good compares to the other Radisson blue hotels.

Helpful?
Thank Coco L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Coco L,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed but would like you to be assured, that we are constantly working on improving our breakfast variety in order to meet and exceed our guests expectations. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

High ceiling, large windows, good breakfast, nice location not too far from the center, rooms have good size, staff is correct... Good value for money I would say. My girlfriend and I stayed in Dubrovnik, Vienna and now we are in Prague and this hotel in Vienna was the best value for money we had on this trip and we always paid approximately the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drakos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Drakos G,

thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, which is obviously in the heritage protected floors of the hotel.. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ugh. That's the best I can say. This hotel has the POTENTIAL to be one of the best in the city. Instead, it just barely gets by.
First, the location is great. The architecture and history are spectacular. BUT, it's just plain tired. In our room, the wallpaper was peeling, the carpet had stains. Additionally, the internet connection was very poor and kept dropping. AND, the service was fair at best. The front desk never had more than 2 people working, which just simply wasn't enough to handle the busy holiday. They were way too busy to offer good service. Bellman?? No idea where he/she was the entire time. No one at the front door or to hail a cab. Food was OK, but much better to take a 2-3 minute walk and enjoy something great.
With a little investment in the rooms, and some staff training on service, this hotel would be exceptional. But alas, it was probably 3 stars at best and falling closely to 2.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattFet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear MattFet,

we deeply apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future, as we are in the final planning stage of a huge renovation coming within the next 9-18 months.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a two level suite that was incredibly spacious for the two of us. The decor is tasteful and the room was very clean and well set out. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious, modern and clean. The staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful, although we could see that they could definitely use an extra staff member on the front desk at busy times to reduce waiting times. The bar in the hotel lobby is a nice place to relax for a drink in the evening too. It is conveniently located about a 10 minute walk from the main shopping area/historic district, and the trams and metros are all over the place too. We would definitely stay here agin if we were in the city.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend getting one of the suites. For the slight extra cost the huge increase in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Karl013,

We are very honoured that you obviously enjoyed your recent at the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel. Furthermore we thank you for your room recommendation, we do offer Royal Club rooms with a surcharge of EUR 65,00 per room and night, offering a much larger room (between 35-45 sqm), Maisonette Suites at EUR 100,00 per room and night or one of our suites for EUR 120,00 per room and night. All higher category surcharges include the Royal Club service, like complimentary upgraded breakfast in the 2nd floor overviewing the Stadtpark, Nespresso machine in the room, free royal club drink offers in the bar, bathrobe & slippers, of course together will all regular amenities of our standard rooms like free W-lan and complimentary minibar with one refill per day.

Dear Karl013, we are very much looking forward welcoming you soon again & remain

with best regards from Vienna

Helmut Sommer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#101 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#7 of 368 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring, Vienna's Casual Luxury Hotel
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#1 of 368 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#75 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Address: Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed in former palace dating from 1872, located near St. Stephen's Cathedral, Opera & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna Hotel Vienna
Radisson Vienna
Vienna Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing