We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential, lost” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So much potential, lost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ugh. That's the best I can say. This hotel has the POTENTIAL to be one of the best in the city. Instead, it just barely gets by.
First, the location is great. The architecture and history are spectacular. BUT, it's just plain tired. In our room, the wallpaper was peeling, the carpet had stains. Additionally, the internet connection was very poor and kept dropping. AND, the service was fair at best. The front desk never had more than 2 people working, which just simply wasn't enough to handle the busy holiday. They were way too busy to offer good service. Bellman?? No idea where he/she was the entire time. No one at the front door or to hail a cab. Food was OK, but much better to take a 2-3 minute walk and enjoy something great.
With a little investment in the rooms, and some staff training on service, this hotel would be exceptional. But alas, it was probably 3 stars at best and falling closely to 2.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear MattFet,

we deeply apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future, as we are in the final planning stage of a huge renovation coming within the next 9-18 months.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    209
    144
    60
    38
See reviews for
91
203
56
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a two level suite that was incredibly spacious for the two of us. The decor is tasteful and the room was very clean and well set out. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious, modern and clean. The staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful, although we could see that they could definitely use an extra staff member on the front desk at busy times to reduce waiting times. The bar in the hotel lobby is a nice place to relax for a drink in the evening too. It is conveniently located about a 10 minute walk from the main shopping area/historic district, and the trams and metros are all over the place too. We would definitely stay here agin if we were in the city.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend getting one of the suites. For the slight extra cost the huge increase in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Karl013,

We are very honoured that you obviously enjoyed your recent at the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel. Furthermore we thank you for your room recommendation, we do offer Royal Club rooms with a surcharge of EUR 65,00 per room and night, offering a much larger room (between 35-45 sqm), Maisonette Suites at EUR 100,00 per room and night or one of our suites for EUR 120,00 per room and night. All higher category surcharges include the Royal Club service, like complimentary upgraded breakfast in the 2nd floor overviewing the Stadtpark, Nespresso machine in the room, free royal club drink offers in the bar, bathrobe & slippers, of course together will all regular amenities of our standard rooms like free W-lan and complimentary minibar with one refill per day.

Dear Karl013, we are very much looking forward welcoming you soon again & remain

with best regards from Vienna

Helmut Sommer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a split level suite that was enormous by European standards. Beautiful decor and a brilliant bed. Definitely value for money to get a royal club room/suite and make the most of free drinks and snacks at the bar from 6-8pm!

The staff were busy but unfailingly polite. We walked everywhere in Vienna because the hotel was in such a great location.

There isn't soundproofing, so you will hear people in the hallway and people in the next room using their staircase.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear OnMyWeekend,

thanking you very much for your spent time and your shared experience during your recent stay with us.

Wishing you a wonderful 2013, we remain

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very bad hotel. Service is for max. 3stars hotel, staff most of the times rude and not helpful at all. Lobby and common areas are not as shown in the pictures, very poor. At reception always 1 person impossible to ask anything since was always too busy. When we checked in as couple with 3 children at a suite room for 5, we have realized we had only 2 single beds in our room, It took them 2 hours to bring more beds in the room. Safe box was not working, promised the would fix it next day, not fixed till the day we left the hotel. Room service very bad. One night we ordered food and they brought it without forks and knives. We had to call them to remind them to eventually bring them in 15 minutes off course without any kind of apology. I'm a very frequent traveller both for business and for please. I travel 8 to 10 times every year for the last 15 years. This is the first time I'm writing a review. Believe me don't stay in this hotel, i have seen some other good reviews for this hotel and I'm amazed, we have either stayed at a different hotel or their reviews are not genuine. Good lack for the people who don't believe me, you will remember me but it will be too late. Last comment, one night I went at the bar downstairs to buy as every night 2 bottles of water as we were 5 people in the room and we only had 2 small bottles of water in the fridge, at the price of 13 euros but never mind. The guy at the bar was still there and was probably closing down, he told me that we was closed and we would not give me water, unbelievable ... I can say more but I will stop here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Marios S,

thanking you very much for your spent time and sharing your recent stay with us.

We are very shocked, about your mentioned impressions and have investigated the mentioned additional beds and mineral water. Please be kindly assured, that the "excuse", that additional beds are not set up in front of arrival rather than in the afternoon hours has been terminated and we have implemented the "delivery of the beds on the day of arrival" to our reservations department in order to prevent circumstances like this.

Concering the mineral water, we've tried to find out the bartender, but weren't sucessfull. With regards to the water quality, please be kindly informed, that all tab water in Vienna is delivered from the nearby Semmering mountain area and is drinkable throughout Vienna.

We would be delighted if you would give us a 2nd chance as we obviously failed during your first stay.

Wishing you a wonderful 2013, we remain

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a good first class hotel in the heart of Vienna. Close to the train station for the airport you could possibly walk from there. Rooms vary in size, but this is usual in many European hotels. Beds are comfortable and the rooms are well maintained. Some rooms have very small old style tv.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Richard H,

thank you very much for your spent time and commenting your recent stay with us.

We deeply regret, that you were not in the position of receiving a 81 cm TV set, as we have just finished shortly before X-mas the replacement throughout the hotel.

Nevertheless, we are very much looking forward welcoming you again and remain

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for a week break in Vienna. I have been to Austria a number of times since I lived there as a child. It was the best hotel ive stayed in. The staff were extremely helpful, the location was amazing minutes away from the old town,next to a park and near the main terminal. I would definately stay there again and would rush to use the services again while staying in Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Steffi24_10,

thank you very much for commenting your recent stay with us.

We are very much looking forward welcoming you again, are extending our best wishes for 2013

AUF WIEDERSEHEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great location with the Stadtpark just opposite and a tram stop right outside the door. You can also walk it from the main CAT station in 5 mins.
The rooms are large and the free mini bar and wifi are excellent.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The building is magnificient and the decor tasteful.

Room Tip: Rooms are big
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear lozloxam,

thanking you very much for your recent stay and your shared impression, we extend our best wishes for a wonderful 2013.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Address: Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed in former palace dating from 1872, located near St. Stephen's Cathedral, Opera & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna Hotel Vienna
Radisson Vienna
Vienna Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.