We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Danube River Cruise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Danube Canal (Donau Kanal)

Danube Canal (Donau Kanal)
Vienna, Austria (Leopoldstadt)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Danube Canal (Donau Kanal) like an insider
Private Tour
$129*
and up
Private Tour: Wachau Valley Tour and Wine...
Ranked #180 of 479 things to do in Vienna
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This offshoot of the Danube River flows through the city just north of the downtown area and, with paved pathways lining its banks, makes for a pleasant stroll.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Romantic Danube River Cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We took the Viking Njord down the Danube, unfortunately it wasn't romantic as we were two women who just wanted to explore. Nerenburg was our first stop and very historically impressive if depressing because of the Nazi background. Regensburg was a lovely old town, as was Passau with the 3 converging rivers, which later was badly flooded. It rained almost everyday but the crew were delightful and made up for the weather alot! Melk Abbey was wonderful and I enjoyed Vienna for the architecture and the music performed by the residence orchestra. But the best was last when we arrived in Budapest Hungary. The market was HUGE and you could find any fresh food there on the first floor and all interesting items for home or individuals on second floor. I can recommend this if you are wanting to relax and maybe over 55 years old. If you tend to want to go off on your own and keep busy this is not a good trip for you. The constant rain didn;t help any but the spirits on board did help.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    43
    23
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lublin, Poland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Believe It or Not, There's also a River”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I couldn't find a more appropriate place to post this comment, especially since a TripAdvisor search for Danube in Vienna brings up the Canal. The Canal and its little bridges are pleasant enough, but I have a nagging thought that people with only small tourist attraction centered maps may not know that there is a lot more to the River Danube in Vienna than the little Canal. We always enjoy walking the bridges that cross the rivers running through cities that we visit. We knew the River Danube (Danau) ran through Vienna, but we came close to concluding that the "hospitality industry" might be quite happy to let the touring public believe the DanauKanal is, indeed, the River Danube. (Perhaps we had a language translation issue.) In any event, the River Danube is east of the Canal. It even has islands in its midst, one of which is the location of the United Nations headquarters. Our experience of the island on the weekend in the middle of February was somewhat surreal; i.e., we saw no more than a dozen people all day, although the area is full of residential high-rise buildings, and we did get lost (long story). The bridge itself carries heavy vehicular traffic, but there is a walkway and bicycle path underneath the bridge on its north side. (We do not know if there is also a walkway on the south side.) Although not particularly attractive the way bridges can be, the walkway is still interesting. It even has a metro-stop in the center. And it does cross the River Danube! We could see extensive public areas on the river banks below us and the area seem quite inviting for summer time rest and play. It is some distance from the principal tourist attractions, but walking and public transportation are available. We're bridge walking die-hards, and we are glad we persevered and had enough time in Vienna to seek out this adventure. Granted, it is probably not for every one; just know that in Vienna, there is a small canal and there is also a large river!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“OK if you like graffiti...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Left bank deserted, badly neglected and full of graffiti - not to be recommended. Opposite bank OK with places to eat, drink or just relax, nice on a sunny afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A fun place to hang out, relax, have a cold beer & a snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

There is this fun little beach on the Danube Canal, just walking out of a subway station. It was a pleasant find on a warm day and we stayed so much longer we almost missed our dinner reservations. We had a cold beer and a fish-snack right off the barbeque. It's one of those moments in time that you can forget about everything, turn your face towards the sun and just 'be'. We absolutely loved it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gate 1 river cruise from Nuremburg to Vienna.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were on the ship "sound of music". Terrific food. Great tour guides on the ship. Professional guides for the cities of Nuremburg, Regensburg, Passau, and Vienna. Also many trips to the christkindle markets. The buses used were excellent. It was very good value for the money. Will do it again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danube Canal (Donau Kanal) also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Danube Canal (Donau Kanal)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danube Canal (Donau Kanal), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.