We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Viennese have easy access to this great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)

Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)
Maria-Theresien-Strasse | Burgring 7, Vienna 1040, Austria (Innere Stadt)
01-521-770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 296 attractions in Vienna
Type: Natural History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The highlights of this natural history museum include a significant collection of dinosaur skeletons and meteorites in addition to a large display of insects from around the world.
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lucky Viennese have easy access to this great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Locating the museum was not difficult .It is the one with a cute looking baby elephant sculpture in front. The museum building is imposing with the typical Viennese architecture.It has the most amazing collection of things on display, much of the explanations being in English as the staff are engaged in international level research conducted by NHM. We began at the topmost level,with the birds section followed by animals, fish etc. Secondary level students darted here and there obviously collecting material for their school projects. A primary school teacher had a group of young children excitedly chattering about the life size models.
The section on insects was immense and the development and use of microscopes was explained with models and films. There were a large number of living things kept under lenses for visitors to view with complete explanations on cards next to the instruments.
I think this museum is the best I have seen in many years.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    195
    61
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent! Do not miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I spent 6 hours in this museum and I would have like to stay a little longer. Wear comfortable shoes because this place is just so awe-inspiring that one WANTS to see everything.
Housed in one of the buildings that is in the Hofburg complex, both the architecture and the contents of the building are impressive. This museum is well-maintained and has a huge collection. They also have a budget to buy artifacts of historical worth. The first floor is a geologist's, physical anthropologist's and paleontologist's dream come true. The second floor is sure to delight the botanist and zoologist in everyone. Dinosaur skeletons, prehistoric skulls, the Venus of Willendorf, Fanny (another Venus), a mammoth, preserved animals from the Schonbrunn zoo, precious stones, fossils...there was just so much to see!
Visit on a Wednesday when there are extended museum hours. Prepare to be impressed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Give yourself plenty of time for this Museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to the museum to see the amazing display of the human body that opened on that day. However, the museum's permanent displays are really worth spending time to look around. This museum must be one of the best in the world - certainly compared to most off the others that I have visited in my lifetime. But even if you only have a couple of hours it will still be worth your while to go there just to see the building. And the coffee shop is really super as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Someone here has a sense of humor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great museum if you are at all interested in natural history. Our favorite part was the computer that takes your picture and then transforms it into a neanderthal! Loved those whiskers! Fabulous gem and mineral collection; don't miss it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a walk through nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have never seen so many different and striking stones! I have learned a lot of new interesting bird spieces! My only problem was that not all signs had a translation in english!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum) also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum) to your Saves list