We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Do not miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)

Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)
Burgring 7 | Maria Theresien Platz, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Vienna Pass Including Vienna Hop-On Hop-Off Bus...
Ranked #10 of 439 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highlights of this natural history museum include a significant collection of dinosaur skeletons and meteorites in addition to a large display of insects from around the world.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent! Do not miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I spent 6 hours in this museum and I would have like to stay a little longer. Wear comfortable shoes because this place is just so awe-inspiring that one WANTS to see everything.
Housed in one of the buildings that is in the Hofburg complex, both the architecture and the contents of the building are impressive. This museum is well-maintained and has a huge collection. They also have a budget to buy artifacts of historical worth. The first floor is a geologist's, physical anthropologist's and paleontologist's dream come true. The second floor is sure to delight the botanist and zoologist in everyone. Dinosaur skeletons, prehistoric skulls, the Venus of Willendorf, Fanny (another Venus), a mammoth, preserved animals from the Schonbrunn zoo, precious stones, fossils...there was just so much to see!
Visit on a Wednesday when there are extended museum hours. Prepare to be impressed!

Visited March 2013
Thank purplepinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Give yourself plenty of time for this Museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to the museum to see the amazing display of the human body that opened on that day. However, the museum's permanent displays are really worth spending time to look around. This museum must be one of the best in the world - certainly compared to most off the others that I have visited in my lifetime. But even if you only have a couple of hours it will still be worth your while to go there just to see the building. And the coffee shop is really super as well.

Visited March 2013
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
177 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Someone here has a sense of humor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great museum if you are at all interested in natural history. Our favorite part was the computer that takes your picture and then transforms it into a neanderthal! Loved those whiskers! Fabulous gem and mineral collection; don't miss it!

Visited March 2013
1 Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a walk through nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have never seen so many different and striking stones! I have learned a lot of new interesting bird spieces! My only problem was that not all signs had a translation in english!

Visited February 2013
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Largest collection of stones and dead animals I have ever seen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The building of the Natural History Museum alone is worth the visit. It's amazing and huge,which beautiful ceilings. The first floor mainly consists of various stone and meteorite collections, which can be quite boring after the fifth room stacked up with little bricks of stone. However, the second floor has the largest collection of stuffed animals I have ever seen (larger than the one in London). Halls filled with birds, and even more halls filled with reptiles... And even a moving dinosaur. I can not think of an animal that I have not seen there. If you like this kind of stuff, it's definitely worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Thank bobby88472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum) also viewed


Been to Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing