We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)

Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)
Maria-Theresien-Strasse | Burgring 7, Vienna 1040, Austria (Innere Stadt)
01-521-770
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$94*
and up
Vienna Photography Walking Tour: Music and...
Ranked #11 of 310 Attractions in Vienna
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highlights of this natural history museum include a significant collection of dinosaur skeletons and meteorites in addition to a large display of insects from around the world.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you like fossils, rocks, and ancient artifacts, this museum is well worth a visit. My granddaughter loved the video I made of the dinosaur roaring and flailing around. My wife loved the stately rooms where the exhibits were located. I liked the way the fossil exhibits were laid out in chronological order.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    257
    72
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was closed every time we went past - no idea when it opens but you should be aware and look it up online before visiting. The art museum across the road always seemed to be open but that was not what we wanted.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great if you like that sort of thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Undoubtedly one of the world's great museums but vast and one whole floor of stuffed animals is not perhaps to everyone's taste. That's on the second floor, dinosaurs and early man on the first - one animatronic dinosaur plus the Willendorf Venus make it a must but don't omit seeing the geological collection - some real gems (literally) and a meteorite from Mars. The restaurant looked good but you clearly need to book in advance, particularly at weekends.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Historic museum in the centre of Vienna.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The museum is house in a large old palace building. The exhibit though perfectly fine were limited and an odd mix of new and old.
It cost ten euros to enter and for that it was worth it. I can quite happily spend all day in one of the big museums in London, and visit again after a month or so - after all there are quite a few museums in London. this however, was more of a visit once and that's it, type of place. I had an enjoyable few hours walking around looking at the exhibits and reading the descriptions; most of which were in German and English, which was a pleasant surprise. I think the cost of entry was reasonable, though I have to take away a guilty pleasure from the incident when a little girl ran into the dinosaur bones exhibit just as the robotic performance was starting up and who scared herself half to death. The robotic dinosaur (Allosaurus) was if not the best I have ever seen, certainly up there. It was very good.

So, would I recommend it to a friend? Yes. A stranger, Yes, though both would depend on their interests and whether they are museum people. Would I go again? Probably not, but ask me again in five years.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You could spend a week in there....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

and still not get to see anything. We visited on one of the long days when they were open until 9, but still did not manage to see everything we wanted. At some point our feet just gave up.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum) also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.