We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular cathedral.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Stephen's Cathedral (Stephansdom)

St. Stephen's Cathedral (Stephansdom)
Stephansplatz 1, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
43-1-515-520, 01/515-52563, 513 76 48
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #17 of 296 attractions in Vienna
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Lookouts
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Austria's most prominent national symbol, this magnificent cathedral is known for its intricately tiled roof and its nearly 500-foot-tall South Tower, which provides amazing views of the entire city.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular cathedral.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our hotel was opposite this cathedral so we looked at it all the time and were amazed by this flamboyant building. It's undergoing some external cleaning at the moment, so we didn't see it at its best but it is certainly worth visiting. If you are younger and more energetic than me you should probably pay the entrance fee and climb the tower for the spectacular views of Vienna. We went inside the cathedral after an exhausting day of walking round museums when our energy levels were low and we just went as far into the building as we were allowed without paying for a full visit. It was packed with other visitors all vying for the best positions to take photos. It was enough for me! This was where we saw the only beggar we came across in Vienna.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,795
    1,004
    283
    42
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very special outside, just another gothic church inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I love the architecture and tile roof, but nothing exceptional inside... still beautiful, though. I probably have saw too many churches by now and getting picky.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing structure!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The cathedral is imposing from the outside and beautiful from the inside. We took the elevator to the top of the smaller tower ( Eur 5 for adult and Eur 2 for child ) The elevator is a squeeze of upto 5 persons. The roof is beautifully tiled and the view lovely.
As it was Good Friday , we came back to the Cathedral for the Stations of the Cross. Of course it was in German but the atmosphere was beautiful.
Its a must to see.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Take the tour of the crypt.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Not a stunning cathedral with the exception of the brightly tiled roof, however we did enjoy the tour of the crypt in particular discovering the bizarre way the Habsburgs were buried in 3 different locations...this is where the intestines are!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chur, Graubunden, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A must in Vienna!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Steffl how Austrians call their Stephansdom, is a very nice church in gothic style. It's not quite so impressive like the Duomo in Milan, but still very, very beautiful. Definitively a "must" in Vienna!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Stephen's Cathedral (Stephansdom) also viewed

 

Been to St. Stephen's Cathedral (Stephansdom)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Stephen's Cathedral (Stephansdom), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Stephen's Cathedral (Stephansdom) to your Saves list