We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly traditional and amazing goulash soup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtshaus Zum Leupold

Wirtshaus Zum Leupold
Schottengasse 7, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)
533938112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #296 of 2,882 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly traditional and amazing goulash soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

All was good. Local beer made for the Christmas period and gulash soup were the best. Price of 25 eur/person

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    73
    22
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, nice and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family of four ate at the Leupold twice during our 4 day stay in Vienna, and the staff was friendly and accomodating every time - even when we asked for two baby chairs, a question which seemed to provoke quite a few of the other viennese restaurants. The food was great, and they had a good selection of beers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere- classic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our family visited Vienna in December for 4 days, our first and last night we ate at Leupolds and thoroughly enjoyed it. The first time we came a little late and needed to eat in the smoking section at the front which was unfortunate, but the food was excellent and the service friendly. The rooms have and incredible atmosphere, and plenty of characters in the space. Parts get full though so come early or make a reservation. This is pub food but excellent pub food!
The beef with fried onions is excellent!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“A Treat in Vienna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food was delicious. I was only in Vienna for four nights and I ate there three out of the four! I had the Wiener Schnitzel each time and my husband had the Goulash one night. The Apple Strudel was yummy! It was so very convenient to the Center, but it does get full (especially in the non-smoking section) so come early.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for a cold evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The service was professional and prompt. We were cold and hungry after the Christmas markets and taking in the sights. So, we ordered comfort food. Wow. It was very good. The fried cheese with cranberry sauce was excellent, the goulash was tender and flavorful. We will definitely keep this restaurant on our list for rveturn trips. Oh, i must say the prices are modest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus Zum Leupold also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Wirtshaus Zum Leupold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wirtshaus Zum Leupold, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.