We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Mare

Il Mare
Zieglergasse 15, Vienna 1070, Austria (Neubau)
+43 1 5237494
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,080 of 2,878 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Neubau
Austria
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Was an excellent food from the appetizer til dessert. The steak was suprisingly very, very good....Florence style. We were 7 in the group and our bill was about Euro600.00, started from prosecco, white wine, mineral water , red wine and at the end shot of grappa. Carpacciover good, sort of cheese wrapped, steak greeen salad and wonderful mixed dessert of tiramisu and ice cream,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    7
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very bad servise .food is ok..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

It took them more than 35 min. To give us The dishes !!
I felt that when they found out that im a turist the servise got downgrade ...
The table was dirty
They didnt give us water like the gave to local people..
We got our dishes (padta) after more then 35 minute
And local people that came after us got their dishes befoe us.
In the end we had a suprise... They have spacial Tax for tourist that i didnt see anywhere
The add us 20% for food and 10% for drinks ( it wasnt in the menu )
I felt very bad !
If i was local ( from austria ) i could get better servise and price...
I wont go back to this resturant
And i'll tell my friends not to do so
Sorry ....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good Italian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Deffinetly one of my favorite Italian restaurants. The staff is a bit stressed but quite friendly. The kitchen is very fast and the quality is very good.
The prices are a bit higher but overall quite okay.
One last recommendation: call there if you'd like to eat there at night. It gets quite full in the evening.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Family run Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have eaten at this busy Italian restaurant near Mariahilferstrasse ( one of the main shopping streets of Vienna). The food is delicious; all freshly cooked on the premises. I have found the staff friendly and helpful always. The atmosphere is that of a traditional family run Italian trattoria. Everyone says the pizzas which are made to order are memorable. I find the pasta starters great and the fish courses fresh and well cooked. The house red wine is pleasant and reasonably priced. The smoking area, often a problem in Vienna, is well separated to the back. Overall you get reasonably priced excellent food in a traditonal Italian atmosphere. Booking recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Il Mare isst Italien”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

bestes essen, originellstes service, anbiederungsabstinenter patrone!
a perfect place to eat italien ...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Mare also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Il Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.