We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariahilferbrau

Mariahilferbrau
Mariahilfer Strasse 152, Vienna 1150, Austria
+43 1 8974749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #308 of 2,882 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Brew Pub, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Mariahilferbrau is a traditional and comfortable Inn with Viennese cuisine. Our guests are offered traditional Viennese dishes (Schnitzel, Goulash and many more) and treats (Warm apple strudel with cream) as well as international specialties (Spareribs). We serve 10 beers on tap as well as a monthly special. Furthermore we offer free WiFi, low cost lunch buffet on weekdays, breakfast buffet every day and brunch buffet on Sundays till 15:00.
uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great value food - huge portions, fairly priced, good quality, nice atmosphere.
Recommended if you are in the Westbahnhoff area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    60
    32
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ancona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,058 reviews 1,058 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 352 cities Reviews in 352 cities
1,102 helpful votes 1,102 helpful votes
“Austrian comfort food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Friendly, cheerful young staff and filling, tasty food. Not what you'd call fine dining, but just what you need if you're tired and hungry. Good beer too.

Not expensive.

Breakfast's a buffet-type affair, with pieces of different sorts of cheese, ham, fruit, buns, yoghurt, etc ranged round on tables - you wander around picking up whatever bits of ham, cheese, bread etc you want, then you take it back to a table and eat it. Quite good. If you want a second cup of coffee or some more cake or something there's no problem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Didnt eat anywere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed in the hotel next door. Went here every evening (unheard of by myself as I love to try lots of places)! Great beer, great food and great atmosphere!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Austrian food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

During our stay in Vienna we ate at Mariahilfenbrau twice for dinner because the food and service was so good the first time. Both times we tried traditional Austrian dishes, e.g. schnitzel, goulash, meatloaf. The food was excellent on both occasions and was up there with the best we had in Vienna (better than the places we tried in the Karlsplatz/Staatsoper area for sure). Portion sizes are generous - our meals were filling, and we saw other tables order the XXL spare ribs and I can certainly attest to the XXL statement.

The service was also warm and friendly. On our first visit, our waitress chatted with us a little throughout the evening and joked around a bit with us, but was professional about it and not too familiar. She remembered us the second time we went back and was just as nice, treating us almost like we were regulars.

They also have separate smoking and non-smoking areas (separated by a door not just an invisible line on the ground!). I recommend a trip up Mariahilferstrasse to Mariahilfenbrau - it's about a 5-10 minute walk from Westbahnhof (or 1-2 tram stops) and in my experience, it's worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brela, Croatia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

3 girls from croatia wanted a nice meal for affordable price and we got it in this fabulous place. Definately try viennese specialties, we had potato goulash with sausages-spicy and it was to die for, amazing. The staff is wonderful and special thanks goes to out waitress claudia, she is an amazing girl. We had the best meal here while staying in vienna. Must see.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariahilferbrau also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Mariahilferbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariahilferbrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.