We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ideal Place for the Independent Traveller"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of K&T Boardinghouse 2

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added K&T Boardinghouse 2 to your Saves list
K&T Boardinghouse 2
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Chwallagasse 2, Vienna 1060, Austria (Mariahilf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 107 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“"Ideal Place for the Independent Traveller"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was my first time in Vienna and I was looking for a place that was near the metro, in a vibrant neighborhood, clean and inexpensive. K&T Boardinghouse is exactly that, ideally located just off of the main shopping street and near many wonderful restaurants and cafes. From here it was possible to walk to the Naschmarkt, the MuseumsQuartier, and Stephansplatz. The room was beautiful and clean, the bathroom new and spotless. The staff was courteous and helpful when asked, but allowed for the kind of independent travelling experience I was looking for. Between the affordability, cleanliness and location of this place, I would certainly book a rental here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    47
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
57
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for three nights in February.

Upon arriving, Tina was super accommodating, showing us to our room, and sitting down with us to show us the map, which sites to see, in what order, and the cheapest way to do so (be sure to read her website before arriving in Vienna/Austria, she has some tips that we missed that will save you money even beginning upon your arrival at the airport!). First impressions of the room was that it was airy (tall ceilings), with a wide open space. It was spotlessly clean, and the small touches such as the slippers provided at the edge of the bed, shoe shiner, lotions and other toiletries etc., were all appreciated. There is wifi available for your laptops or phones. If you do not have any devices to connect to the wifi in your room, a computer is available for use in the main lobby area. There is a communal fridge available that you can put food in, but note that there is no kitchen available to prepare hot food. The rooms are serviced each morning while you are out touring around. The beds are not the most comfortable. They are firm but tolerable. The shower was great- high pressure and hot water!

If you are concerned about the complaints other reviews have made about the bus noise- It is no worse than any other city noise. The buses sit on the street directly outside of the hostel. They turn their engines off while they are at the stop (for long periods of time). You hear the engines start up but it is a subtle noise that didn't bother me at all (and I can be a light sleeper). The rooms are not on street level so you will not have problems or privacy concerns with people walking by. Apart from light engine noise, the room is soundproof and you can not hear anything.

KT Boardinghouse 2 is conveniently located right around the corner from the subway/metro station. There are numerous cafes and shopping available nearby (we ate at Cafe Ritter, around the corner but in the same building as KT, twice for breakfast).

Overall, I would consider this more of a hotel than a hostel, while still getting the value of staying at a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

It was our third time in Vienna and we decided to avoid surprises and chose K&T Boardinghouse 2 for three nights. Definitely, this place has a great location – near there is a long shopping street, museum quarter and a subway station, which brings you for 5 min to center of Vienna – Stefan’s cathedral or you can use your feet to get there and it will take about 15-20 min. The room is also clean, comfort and large enough. We found kettle, teabags, coffee and even a little bottle of red wine with Mozart candy on the table in the room and a fridge in the hall. So it was a nice discovery after cold windy walk in Vienna. Tina and Olena are very hospitable, first day they told us about the main attractions and then they worried about our staying and asked us whether we need something or not. And if we will be in Vienna ones more, of course we know where we will stay, because it’s a good place for it’s price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volos
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The rooms are very spacious and super-super clean. The property is located just 10' walk from the historic center of Vienna, 50m from the Metro station, next to the most commercially active street in Vienna.

The personnel was very attentive and helpful.

Minor (really) things that can very easily be changed:
1) Very small pillows (they look like decorative pillows, not bed pillows).
2) Rather medium sized body towels, somewhat thin.
3) Inadequate amount of toiletries (shampoo & shower gel combo). They might be enough for my wife's hair, but not for 2 persons and not for hair and body.

I had read in previous reviews complaints about the noise due to a bus stop being right outside the window. The bus stop actually is right outside the window, however you have to be a really light sleeper to notice the noise.

In summary, excellent overall value and - of course - excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

A great place just right off one of the busiest shopping streets. Very clean and modern room that was both spacious and welcoming. Very helpful staff. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed for six nights in Vienna and we enjoyed every minute of it. This was partly due to the excellent accommodation and service K&T Boardinghouse provided. We felt very lucky with our hostel as it was very central (15min walk to the city centre; 1min walk to the underground), ultra clean, and big. The room had every amenity you could wish for and the size of it was simply gigantic. It was also a big benefit that you had free wireless but in case you truly want to enjoy your holiday and leave your laptop at home, you could check your email at the hostel keeper's PC. The price-value ratio is just unbeatable!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Have been traveling to Europe on vacation for many years and this is one of the best places we've stayed at. GREAT LOCATION – 10-15 minute walk to the main attractions and in the opposite direction, 10-15 minutes to the main train station. All along the way, streets are packed with shops and cafes, makes for great shopping / great finds and safe in the evening - including the area around the train station. We took the train for several day trips to Salzburg and the Danube valley, and returned late in the evening. Subway is also right there as well as a grocery store across the street to buy snacks and food on the run. GREAT VALUE - rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean. If having a clean room is a top priority (as is mine) – this place won’t disappoint. We stayed here for 9 nights and it was wonderful. Tina keeps the place in top shape and takes great care in the details. And is friendly and helpful too, taking the time to go over the map with you, explain the main attractions, and so on. Note, there are three flights of stairs and if you’re not used to walking up /down the stairs a whole lot, you’ll quickly get used to it! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Just let Tina know what your needs are
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to K&T Boardinghouse 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K&T Boardinghouse 2

Address: Chwallagasse 2, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — K&T Boardinghouse 2 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of the Amenities marked are not in our house directly available but in the very close vicinity. We are located in the best zone you could ever have in Vienna, just right off MAriahilferstrasse the biggest shoppingstreet in the City. Many eateries, cofee shops and restaurants are closy by fancied by the locals. Most of the major sights are within walking distance and the U3 metro station is right front of the door.Breakfast is available also outside as the variety is so reach in choices. In our beautiful old house you can spend some days feeling the autentical viennese atmosphere!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your K&T Boardinghouse 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K&T Boardinghouse 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.