We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; uppity staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zu den drei Hacken

Zu den drei Hacken
Singerstrasse 28 | A-1010, Vienna 1010, Austria
01/5125895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 2,867 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food; uppity staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently shared a meal here while visiting Vienna. The food was good but I had a problem with one of the staff. He definitely did not want to seat us although there were tables available. At first he turned us away and then reluctantly gave us a "reserved" table outside. As we enjoyed our dinner, we watched many people, about 6 parties in all, without reservations get seated immediately. Because of this, I would not recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    76
    23
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
31
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice food and pleasant dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A wide menu with Austrian specialties not offered in other restaurants. Choice was difficult. I had calf sweetbreads breadcrumbed and fried and my colleague had char. Both dishes were very good. Very nice Starobrno, and pinot blanc. The waitress was efficient and she made the effort to kindly speak to us in French and she speaks it very well . The wine list is so impressive it is difficult to make a choice. A very nice evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very good, Very typical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

just a hundred meters away from Saint Stephen cathedral, in the mid of touristic Vienna, this restaurant retains an authentic atmosphere with a strictly "Austrian" menu and tastes.

The Goulash, Scheinbraten and of course the wienerschnitzel are very good, the apfelstrudel nice, but not exceptional. They have some outside tables for the warmer days and evenings. Prices are very reasonable, considering an "haptspeice" goes for under 20 euros and it is essentially a whole meal. Service is efficient, at least two of the waiters speak good english, but a few words of German will win you some extra smiles.

Good for couples or business meetings as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A friend and I recently had an excellent dinner on Friday night. We did not have a reservation and the restaurant was full, but they gave us a table if we could finish in 1 hour. The waiter gave us samples of 2 red wines that were very good and reasonably prices. The wine list is huge so we were glad they made recommendations and surprised they gave us tastes. The roasted pork was very tasty. I can understand why this is a popular place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family dinner during vacation in Vienna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We hit this restaurant for dinner during our vacation while looking for another place in the area. The location isn't exciting but we sat outside on a nice summer night. In addition to the normal German/Austrian "porky" fare, that had several specials to include reh(deer). We got several specials and they were all very good. Price is comparable to other places; you should expect to pay about 90E for a sit down dinner for four with drinks and maybe one or two extras. Fast,friendly service. I would come here again for the food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zu den drei Hacken also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zu den drei Hacken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zu den drei Hacken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.