We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Orpheus

Restaurant Orpheus
Spiegelgasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)
43 1 512 38 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #325 of 3,012 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Greek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Restaurant recommended by our driver who was from Greece. We had a very warm and friendly waiter who spoke good enough English to effectively communicate. For appetizers, we had a feta cheese dish and egg plant dish - both were excellent but I have to say the egg plant was the better. For main courses, wife had sea bass and I had kabobs of lamb, chicken and beef. Too much food for dessert.

Waiter recommended a 2007 cabernet from Greece and it was excellent so much so we purchased bottle to take back to hotel. Fair prices, great service, great food and easy location near Stephansplatz square,

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Value Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Really nice & friendly greek restaurant. Ate outside both visits. Highly recommend the Eggplant Souffle & the Spinach Strudel. Good value - with beers & a glass of Prosecco Euros 60 for 2.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went here on the recommendation of Trip Adviser. The restaurant itself was a lovely building. Inside we had to walk through the front smoking part of the restaurant to get to the non-smoking part at the back. The service was very attentive and friendly. For me, there wasn't enough typical Greek dishes on the menu. We had the meze to start with, which was good - we had the vegetarian one. But I was a bit disappointed with the choices of the main courses. I took the rolled cabbage leaves - 4 large ones, which I struggled to finish, but tasty all the same. My husband had the giros, which again was a large portion, but very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice sunday brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting greek restaurant for the first time in Austria and didn't now what to expect.
It was a great surprise. Food very good ofcourse from tzatziki, to lamb chops everything we were looking for.
Service quick, everybody smiling and polite. Nothing is a problem. It was a sunday brunch restaurant full, crowded, great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We were originally going to Osteriais Pronto da Salvo, could not find it, went into Orpheus for directions and returned there after finding Pronto to be totally inadequate.
First, the service in Orpheus could not have been better. This is a Greek food place with a fine decour. We four easily found items on the menu to order, and each of us enjoyed our meals. We liked our wine. We liked our waiter.
Orpheus is a classy place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Orpheus also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Restaurant Orpheus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Orpheus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.