We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, cosy, friendly and yummy Greek restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Orpheus

Restaurant Orpheus
Spiegelgasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)
43 1 512 38 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #302 of 2,882 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
vienna
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Classy, cosy, friendly and yummy Greek restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Been to Orpheus four times in a less than year and was never disappointed. The venue is spacious and not overly decorated. Food is great and varied (had a delicious grouper last week-end), and they have a great selection of quality Greek wines both white and red. The service is efficient with a touch a Mediterranean friendliness and always a smile. The maître d' often offers a glass of Ouzo Ploumari (the best of the best). And they accept patrons fairly late (after 10 pm), which is fairly rare in Vienna.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lack of perspective”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Arrived when quiet, ordered a souvlaki platter, read some reviwes talking about how the greeks like to take their time (useless review that is), after 30mins thought that true they like to take their time, then watched in disbelief how the patio filled up and everybody got their food before me, meanwhile the waiters kept smiling at me, never asked a thing, never said a word. After 1 hr i pid for my drink and left, heard the waiter shout into the kitchen "did you not make the souvlaki platter ?" turning to me he said it's ready now. I said I amready too, cn I hve the bill for my drink, they even made me pay for it, - a complete lack of perspective. Sleeepy and Dopey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best Greek Food in Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

What a treat! My family and I loved the food, service and ambience. I flew in from the States to meet my parents and I usually get excellent food in Astoria, NY (Greektown). This place though served authentic Greek food at a decent price and in a beautiful setting, right downtown. I can recommend this restaurant to anybody. It took me 2 visits to Vienna to find this restaurant and I wished I had skipped the other Greek restaurants in Vienna before. I will always return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“city greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

my boyfriend and i frequent a taverna in the us, and god forbid we go a week without greek food, so we went here while we were vacationing in vienna!

we had the garides saganaki as a app- and it was delicious- just the right amound of food.

the boyfriend had the chicken souvlaki for his entree and OH MY GOD it was phenomenal. i got bronzino and it was all right- not the best ive had, but definitely delicious.

this place doesnt have the taverna style dining that we were expecting- its a more chic and more urban, but the decor is lovely, and the staff is very helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The absolute best meal we had in Vienna and it wasn't Austrian...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Orpheus was fantastic. It's a beautiful setting, the staff are friendly. We had an appetizer plate that rivals those you get in Greece. We followed with a broiled whole Bronzino that was perfectly cooked and a welcome respite from all the meat dishes. Topped it off with Turkish coffee served in a copper pot and kataifi. Easily the best meal we had.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Orpheus also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Restaurant Orpheus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Orpheus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.