We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Italian restaurant and a change from Austrian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CANTINETTA am Ring - Cucina Italiana

CANTINETTA am Ring - Cucina Italiana
Universitatsring 8 | Innere Stadt, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)
+43 1 5354665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 2,882 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: Enjoy fabulous italian specialities in a pleasant atmosphere! fresh pasta, fish, seafood, grilled beef, chicken and veal - top austrian quality...great italian & austrian wines...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian restaurant and a change from Austrian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Spending 4 nights in Vienna, eventually you get fed up with Schnitzels or Tafelspitz. This is a good choice for a variation.
Good selection and quality of food, good and friendly service and a nice easy to get to location.
If you are visiting the Rathaus xmas markets (as we were) it's 2 minutes walk from there.
It was busy (always a good sign) and the bill was reasonable.
A good selection of wine, and the chance to have a grappa after the meal rather than a schnapps.
It's a casual restaurant (no need to put your best clothes on).
Recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    72
    25
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Underrated!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Ate here on our 1st and last night in Vienna. It's a fairly small restaurant opposite the Rathaus (next to Cafe Landtmann) but the atmosphere is excellent with food to match. We ate at Cafe Landtmann one night but we found the food there to be nowhere near as good as here! I would recommend the steak and gnocchi! We also ordered one of the cheaper bottles of wine on the menu but surprisingly it was excellent! Will definitely be returning here should we return to Vienna!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

First time I visited this restaurant a couple of years ago I had the most wonderful spaghetti bolognese you could imagine, so when I craved for more of the same during my last wonderful visit to this marvelous city, I went for this restaurant again. Unfortunately, it was not on the menu, but on request, the kitchen nevertheless cooked and served a nice portion of pasta with meat and tomato sauce. That is good service, indeed! The food here is really very italian, so is the relaxed style and the service. Furthermore, it's not expensive at all. I can recommend Cantinetta if you are in the mood for the the southern Europe.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We dined here on our first night in Vienna and had high expectations. However, we left this establishment feeling underwhelmed and here are the reasons why:

The menu was heavily weighted towards fish dishes. If you do not like fish (like us), your options are very limited.

The food is okay and nothing to write home about.

Of the other restaurants we subsequently dined at in Vienna, this was the least value for money given the food on offer.

Service was extremely slow. I do not think the waiting staff are at fault, rather the Chef's timings at the pass.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perm, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charming ambience and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very very good. Restaurant is located next door to famous Cafe Landtmann and almost across the road from Rathaus, so it is easy to find. The ambience is very charming. Food is really good. I had calamari “siciliana” – piccante and came back for it again. Absolutely great. I travelled solo, female - both times had no problems at all, always was offered a table in the main area, service was fast and waiters were polite. Definately recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CANTINETTA am Ring - Cucina Italiana also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to CANTINETTA am Ring - Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CANTINETTA am Ring - Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.