We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria Los Mexikas

Taqueria Los Mexikas
Lange Gasse 12, Vienna 1080, Austria
+43 (0)14060871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 2,876 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Authentic and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Mexican joints outside of Mexico suffer from two big challenges: they are routinely confused with Tex-Mex, which can be good in itself, but it isn't Mexican; the second challenge is that restauranteurs often times "adapt" the food to favor local palates, thereby ruining the dish.

Los Mexikas doesn't fall in either of those traps. I was born and raised in Mexico City and I can testify that their food tastes like home. Fresh, authentic, seasoned to perfection. This is Mexico City brought to the genteel streets of Vienna.

Of particular note is are their "sopas" (soups), do give them a try.

The joint itself is small but not at all oppressive, the service is quick, informal, and friendly, the decor and the music are pure Mexico, and the prices are moderate. Los Mexikas is a little off the beaten path, you won't find it just by walking around the typical touristy places, but it is just a five minute walk from the museum quarter and the Rathaus. Well worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    31
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Mexican I have had in Europe...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was the best I have had since living and traveling in Europe for the last 14 months. Coming from the US I miss spicy food. We found it randomly.

My husband and I were able to get hot sauce, and it was absolutely delicious. I don't think you can go wrong.

Only bad point is that they don't take credit card.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner during our visit. The food was inexpensive and delicious and a wonderful break from traditional German/Austrian food. Great margaritas!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mexico in Vienna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The atmosphere in the restaurant was great! There was a large group of people celebrating something so it was vivid. The food is very good, all of us liked what we ordered. We also ordered margueritas, they were pretty strong, but delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Olé!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This little gem of a place was a find. It was right across from our hotel and after walking so much during the day, we didn't want to go far for our evening meal. We really enjoyed our meals. We sat inside, as the small patio area was more for those who wanted to have a cigarette before/after their meals. We each had a very well made margarita along with some tortilla chips with refried beans, guacamole & salsa for dips. For mains, I had a salad with some grilled chicken and my husband had a mole dish with beef. He said it was delicious and it looked very good. The staff are awesome and I think they have a good time in there! Lots of smiles and laughs. Great music and atmosphere. Definitely go and most certainly have one of their margaritas - or more!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Los Mexikas also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Taqueria Los Mexikas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria Los Mexikas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.