We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Concerts at the Mozarthaus

Concerts at the Mozarthaus
Singerstrasse 7, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Inner City)
+43 1 9119077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 83 Theater & Concerts in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The „Concerts in Mozart’s House“ take place in the house of Mozarts first apartment in Vienna, now the monastery of the “German Teotonic Order”. Mozart lived and worked here for Archbishop Colloredo in the year 1781. The "Sala Terrena" with its beautiful frescos is the oldest concert hall in Vienna, where Mozart himself performed many concerts. The “Mozart Ensemble” will enchant you with a musical program that includes well-known compositions as well as great works of famous composers like Mozart, Haydn, Schubert, Beethoven, Bach etc. By performing in Austria and abroad, the “Mozart Ensemble” has established itself in the Viennese concert culture and has become an “insider tip” for visitors from all over the world.
Ormskirk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

This was not the Mozarthaus in Domstrasse but a small room attached to a very old church in Singerstrasse. The beautiful room with paintings on the walls and ceiling was absolutely delightful. The Mozart ensemble, a quartet and dressed in period costume, played music by Mozart and Haydn. We thoroughly enjoyed the performance.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“"Private concert" done by Passionate musicians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 via mobile

A dream come true for me!
Every January 1st I watch the vienna philarmonic orchestra. My dream once in vienna was to attend classical music concert. I was disappointed there was not exhibition of the philarmonic orchestra last saturday....however this alternative was amazing. 4 musicians playing Mozart repertoire in Mozart house in a small hall with less than 50 people for 1 hour. Its was delightful. The "main" violonist (a lady) played beautifully and passionately. I didnt want the experience to end. I loved all of it. (the "hall" was beautifully decorated). Worth the price (40 ?). Must do!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“First class Performers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Not only that the artists are high class musicians, the fact that in this very hall Mozart himself gave concerts, makes the whole experience outstanding. The hall is beatiful, the preformers are preffesionals and the whole expereince a real paradise for music fans. if you plan to listen to chamber music concert whule in Vienna, go for this one. kids get a reduction from full price. book ahead. I booked for me and my 9 yrs old son seats at the first row which are more expensive but worthes it.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

We really enjoyed this music evening. It is set in a beautiful and historic room. We are not experts, but the musicians seemed extremely accomplished. We heard lovely pieces from Bach, Beethoven and (of course) Mozart. Its a small venue so book in advance. Ignore the negative review.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Didn't Expect to Like This...And We Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

I'm not a huge fan of violin concerts so my expectatons were low when our friends booked the evening concerto at the Mozarthaus in Vienna. However, within minutes we were in a trance. Four very talented and gifted violinists play music from Mozart, Strauss and others in a very intimate setting. There are no speakers just the acoustics of the chamber room that Mozart himself once performed before here before the Bishop. Truly special night.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Concerts at the Mozarthaus also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Concerts at the Mozarthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concerts at the Mozarthaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.