We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to spend your afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiergarten Schoenbrunn - Zoo Vienna

Tiergarten Schoenbrunn - Zoo Vienna
Vienna, Austria
+43 1 87792940
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$122*
and up
Family Vienna Combo: Vienna Card, Schonbrunn Zoo...
Ranked #4 of 310 Attractions in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Zoo Vienna, the oldest existing zoo in the world founded in 1752. Schonbrunn Zoo was voted Europe's best in 2008, 2010 and 2012. Schonbrunn Zoo is the perfect place for a journey into the fascinating world of the animal kingdom. Open year round, it combines the highlights of the natural world with an unparalleled history as the world's oldest and Europe's best zoo. It is part of Schonbrunn as a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage listed site and home to more than 700 species of animals. Marvel at the Giant pandas, tigers, orangutans, koalas and elephants, immerse yourself in the magic of the Amazon and feel the heat of a tropical rainforest in the heart of Europe. Moderated feeding sessions, guided tours and a trip aboard the panorama train turn a trip to the zoo into an unforgettable experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Oradea, Romania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend your afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We visited the zoo with our baby and we all loved it. There are plenty of animals to see and the walk was great. You also have places to buy food and water from. There are places to change your baby and carts to walk them in.
Would recomand the zoo for all families with children

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,537
    462
    95
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bury st edmunds suffolk uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very well laid out zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Unfortunately the weather turned for the worse whilst we were walking round the zoo which is situated so as we hadn't gone prepared with wet weather gear, we all got soaked! But at least it was warm rain! We got to the giant panda cage just before feeding time so we could enjoy them tucking into their favourite food...bamboo. There was a good variety of animals there, ranging from pelicans to giraffes and penguins to monkeys. Unfortunately, and perhaps because it was absolutely thowing it down with rain, lots of the animals stayed in their houses so we couldn't see much activity. The price was reasonable and it would have been a very enjoyable few hours if it hadn't been so wet .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great animals, poor unorganised zoo.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Good: Pandas we're amazing to see for the first time! They really do enjoy eating bamboo!

Koala's are cute sleepy critters!

Good size enclosures for pretty much all the animals.

Good value gift shop.

Friendly wild red squirrel who was hunting around for food decided to follow us!

Bad: Polar bear habitat was closed (19/10/12) however the enclosure is getting a full revamp so that's going to be something new in the future. Bad timing on our part!

Hardly any food or snack shops were open. I presume they class October as quiet season as nothing much food wise was open at all.

Layout is a bit unorganised with not really any routes to follow. A few sign posts here and there to sort of point you in a direction to walk.

Some random new underground walkway which was photographs of crocodiles, gorillas, apes and giraffes but as we got to the other side there was a brand new restaurant/cafe which was empty and a park employee talking on a microphone about a lonely orangutan in a enclosure by himself!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The oldest zoo in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This old zoo is a very good place to have some fun and take some pictures with animals while you're in Vienna. Don't miss it

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are looking for in a zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

There are pros and cons to this zoo and your experience here will depend on what you like to see. First, the layout is confusing- sort of like a spoked wheel design where animal displays are all over the place. So it's tough to find a route through the zoo where you can clearly walk and see everything. On the other hand, some may find this layout charming with lots of trees throughout the zoo and it's certainly more interesting than just a straight layout with all the displays in a row.

The center of this place has an older historic building that functions as a restaurant.

I'd suggest taking a close look at the map of this place that you receive when you pay your fee. Decide in advance which displays you'd like to see and be sure to follow the map.

The Schoenbrunn Palace is adjacent to this zoo. It makes for a nice trip because you can visit both places in an afternoon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiergarten Schoenbrunn - Zoo Vienna also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Tiergarten Schoenbrunn - Zoo Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiergarten Schoenbrunn - Zoo Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.