We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely light food in nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neni am Naschmarkt

Neni am Naschmarkt
Naschmarkt Stand 510, Vienna 1060, Austria (Wieden)
(0) 1 585 20 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #375 of 2,882 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Kosher, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Wieden
Belgrad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely light food in nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I've done Neni for breakfast, lunch and dinner ... Whereas their breakfast choice is just not my thing, their lunch and dinner bites are great: fresh, light, tasty ... It's my absolute favorite on Naschmarkt!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    119
    26
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Shakshuka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had breakfast twice at Neni last week. I was completely hooked on their shakshuka. Neni makes a spicy tomato sauce with thin slices of peppers topped with two perfect sunny side up eggs and a side of pita that comes in a cute material sac. Delicious. I visited their Naschtmarkt location and wish I had time to try something off their lunch/dinner menu. I would go back to Neni the next time I returned.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great find in Nash market. Excellent food drink and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Went for dinner one evening. Sat outside with the outdoor heaters. Wine was good reasonably priced. Soup excellent. Main courses were also good. Had the quinoa salad with chicken and a veggie dish. Good service. Youngish crowd. Almost at the end of the first set of restaurants in NM. Would go again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting food, but varying quality...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

"Neni am Naschmarkt" is one of the multi-culti restaurants at Naschmarkt where you can get Israeli inspired cuisine. The atmosphere is relaxed chic and inviting. They have nice wines, but to be honest nothing special considering the prices.

The food is interesting and often quite good - especially in the evening - but the quality can vary. Sometimes if you go there for lunch the preparation is a little careless.

The service can be a little careless at times too, but very friendly when you do finally get some attention. The impression one gets is that the service team are all nice, cool and attractive young people, but not really professionally trained. Too laid back can come across as sloppy, which is a shame.

I still like going there, nevertheless, because the food is different and original... and yummy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A gem in Naschmarkt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Most guidebooks claim it a must for Vienna, and the market is a lively place but the quality of food is questionable in most spots. One exception is Neni, with cosy interior as well for colder days. Too bad the menu is limited (emphasis on chicken). Good hummus.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neni am Naschmarkt also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Neni am Naschmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neni am Naschmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.