We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aktiv Camping Neue Donau

Aktiv Camping Neue Donau
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vienna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aktiv Camping Neue Donau
Save
You added Aktiv Camping Neue Donau to your Saves list
Am Kleehaufel, Vienna 1220 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Sosnowiec, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very good location close to the Vienna city center (you can go there by metro) but this also means that the place is noisy (there is a highway and a train just outside the camp). It is the only camp I've visited where there is a place for tents and a separate parking so you may have a problem with having your vehicle close to your tent. Mostly dedicated for campers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a large site with good washrooms and a basic restaurant. The Metro station is a 15 minute walk away so you can be in the centre of Vienna in under 30 minutes. The site is near to the Danube so there is good walking and cycling by the camp.
However the site is noisy since it is next to a motorway and railway. The site is not near any large shops or restaurants and the onsite shop is very small. There is a Shell petrol station nearby which has a reasonable selection of food. There is wifi but this is only useable in the main building so you sit at the table in the dishwash room to use it!
This was my second visit to this site and I would be happy to go there again. If you want to visit Vienna use this site, if you want a peaceful holiday go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Before I went to this camp I read all the reviews and I didn't know what to expect.
I arrived after 20 o'clock so the reception was closed but that wasn't a problem because I was allowed to enter and install my tent and payed the next morning.
The camping is nice and clean. The toilets and showers are also spotless and they are close to the tents area. There is WiFi internet at the reception which is 100m from the tents area.
The camping is not that noisy and I didn't have any difficulties sleeping at all.
The metro station is very close to the campgrounds, about 10 minutes walk.
If you come here to visit Vienna this camping is perfectly located, clean and nice.
But if you come here to sleep all day and to fill like your are in the middle of the nature then you are in a terribly wrong place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Bordered by two motorways and a train line (look at a satellite photo) even with ear plugs i couldn't sleep here.

The basic facilities are fine, but it's soulless and there's no recreational space (campers are packed into a small patch at the far end of the site), no BBQ spots etc...

It sells itself as ideal for activities but really it's just next to an uninteresting stretch of the river path.

Reasonably convenient for central Vienna but you need to walk 10-15 mins or get a bus to the metro station first.

We stayed there because it seemed good value for a central location - but not worth the saving over other options!

Be warned, the website is borderline fraudulent with what it suggests..

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aktiv Camping Neue Donau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aktiv Camping Neue Donau

Address: Am Kleehaufel, Vienna 1220 , Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Number of rooms: 26

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aktiv Camping Neue Donau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.