We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half satisfied only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio Vienna City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adagio Vienna City to your Saves list
Adagio Vienna City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urania Strasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40 %
Ranked #100 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Half satisfied only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Only half satisfied. The location is fine, close to Vienna Center, easily reachable from the airport. The room itself is nicely decorated and furbished, but is rather small for an "apartment" : an entrance corridor which is also the kitchenette, a small room with just enough space for the bed and a tiny table + 1 chair, the bathroom is fine. One last thing, it was written in the room that it needed to be released by noon. The morning at the reception desk, it was only 11 am : I had to pack quickly my luggage before leaving, without any flexibility, nor one word of excuse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Reception at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback on the Adagio-Vienna-City Aparthotel. This way we can improve our service and make your stay as comfortable as possible. We regret that you have been not informed correctly about our check-out time and that you had to rush out of the room. Actions have been taken immediately, so this will not be happening in the future anymore.

Despite the inconveniences you have experienced we hope you could still enjoy your stay here in Vienna and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you in the Adagio-Vienna-City once again.

Sincerely
Christina Hawke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    175
    50
    9
    8
See reviews for
90
195
26
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were on holiday in Vienna for 5 nights and the Adagio offered a great location which was close enough to the centre of activities around the Stephenplatz yet far away from the hustle and bustle of the moisy crowd. It was also easily accessible by the airport shuttle bus or express train.

We were initially allocated a rather miserable small room facing the courtyard, but after representation were offered a much nicer and spacious room facing the street which we were happy to settle with for our stay. The studio was well provided with all the utilities one needed and adequate wardrobe for short or long stay.

The reception staff was helpful and gave valuable advice on dining options in the city. The only problem during our stay was the wifi service which went out of order and was not functional throughout our stay. Other than this, the apartment hotel was as perfect as it could be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street and, better still, a high floor one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Reception at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback on your stay in the Adagio Vienna City Aparthotel. We are happy to hear, that we could assign you to a different room which was more suitable for you. Our priority always remains in satisfying our guests and their wishes.
We regret that the internet has not been working as you have had wished for. At the time of your stay we made some updates on the internet in order to provide our guests a better and faster internet in the future.

We thank you once again for your feedback and hope to see you here in Vienna soon again.

Sincerely
Christina Hawke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family , 2 kids and 2 adults. Reached at 7am, check in was at 2pm, but the manager was understanding and made us the room available at 11:30.
The breakfast was laid in the lobby cafe, the lady there was nice to give croissants for the children and milk for the child.
Rooms very clean and we had housekeeping everyday, since we stayed for 2 nights. Tram station was just 50mts away. Location was very good to walk upto St Stephen church etc.
our room was on 5th floor and we could see the Church tower lighted up at night from the balcony.
They also had a vending machine for sodas and water.
Overall very comfortable and good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Reception at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay here in Vienna. We are happy to hear that you stay has been a joyful experience for you and your family. There is no greater compliment than your comment, to know that all our efforts have been achieved to your satisfaction.

We are more than happy to welcome you here in our Adagio-Vienna-City Aparthotel once again.

Sincerely
Christina Hawke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Staff was always helpful. The apartment had a nice view of the Danube canal.
The apartment was compact but functional. Sink is just a bar-type sink, so a bit hard to prepare meals. The carpets need replacement. However, everything else was spotless. They even cleaned the internet pc monitor and mouse every day!
The tram #1 stops right outside the door. Nice to catch that tram and go to the endpoint in Prater - a huge park with nice walking paths. There a a Billa grocery store just a short block away. We have stayed here several times and look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Reception at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay here in Vienna. We are happy to hear that your stay has been a success. It is always our priority to fulfill our guest needs and wishes.
We hope we will have the pleasure once again to welcome you here in our Adagio-Vienna-City Aparthotel.

Sincerely
Christina Hawke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in Vienna for two nights . We had the most pleasant stay here. We reached Vienna at 7am and the checkin was not before 3 pm . But the gentlemen at the reception was very helpful and gave us the room at 10 am. Also they have a small cafe from which has a very decent breakfast. We booked a one bedroom apartment since we had two small kids. The apartment was very clean and comfortable . It had a terrace which over looked the Danube canal. The location was really perfect of this apartment. Close to the main square and shopping areas. Everything was within walking distance so not even once we had to take the cab. There are usually small gestures which make a hotel special and I would like to share some of these incidents. In the morning when we checked in the lady from the cafe gave a complimentary plate of croissants for the kids. It was really sweet of her. Also since we were there over the weekend we had no idea that superMarts are closed. The gentlemen at the reception named Al- Hashimi gave us milk for the cafe for us kid without any charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Reception at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay here in Adagio-Vienna-City Aparthotel. I am happy to pass on your nice words to all our team. There is no bigger reward than a satisfied guest.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Sincerely
Christina Hawke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place is not exactly a hotel because during your stay the room does not get cleaned, towels/bed sheets are not changed, trash bin not emptied, no supply of tissues/toilette paper.... however it is neither a hotel apartment because it's not spacious at all.There's a sofa bed which once you open it there's not much space left, There's a desk/table with only one chair so not even a place for two to sit on. The only thing that would make it resemble an apartment was the tiny entry hall turned into a kitchenette with all the stuff you may need. The floor mats had multiple stains and internet was too slow. A/C worked but was not efficient.

The things I liked about this place: huge bathroom with a nice bathtub, windows were well isolated against noise. it's right in front of a tram stop and is just 5 mins walking from metro station. Pharmacy, supermarket, fast foods etc can be all reached within minutes as well.

However I wouldn't return to this place. for a hundred euros more I could book Hilton+breakfast so the price wasn't even that great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Reception at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time for giving us your feedback on your stay here in the Adagio Vienna City Aparhotel. We regret that the room has not been what you have expected and we are terrible sorry that we have missed to inform you that clean towels, tissues and toilette papers are handed out at the reception desk. As well we offer extra chairs to our guests, which is of course free of charge. As well we also offer 2-bedroom apartments, which would separate the living room from the bedroom.
As we are an Aparthotel we also have specific cleaning schedule. If you staying in our Aparthotel for more than 3 nights, there will be a weekly cleaning included after the 7 day. An extra cleaning is always provided for an additional payment. Due that reason, we can offer more suitable prices to our guests.
Once again we are terribly sorry for not informing you correctly about our Aparthotel, but we can promise you that actions have been taken immediately, so this will not happen in the future anymore.
After all, we still hope you enjoyed your stay here in Vienna and it would be a pleasure to us to welcome you back here in the Adagio Vienna City Aparthotel.

incerely
Christina Hawke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location of the hotel was really good since it was just a 2 minute walk to the nearest underground station and near lots of fast food chains. The room even though not so spacious, it had all the necessities including a coffee machine and was perfect for a 4 day trip to Vienna. The only negative aspect is that you are charged to get your room cleaned up and we had to pay to change our towels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Reception at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay here in Adagio-Vienna-City Aparhotel. We regret, than we haven’t been informing you correctly when it comes to our cleaning schedule. If you stay in our hotel for 4 days only the end-cleaning is included in the price, but towels, toilette-papers can me changed at the reception desk. This arrangement gives us the opportunity to offer your more suitable prices.
We are sorry for the inconvenienced you have experienced and we hope after all you had a wonderful stay here in Vienna.

It would be a pleasure to us if we can welcome you here back in the Adagio Vienna City Aparthotel.

Sincerely
Christina Hawke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adagio Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Vienna City

Address: Urania Strasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Vienna
#75 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#96 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio City Vienna is located in the heart of Vienna, right next to Julius-Raab-Platz and in close proximity to the ring road and the historical city center. We offer 124 fully equipped rooms, from studios for 2 people to 2-room apartments for 4 people. Located in the "Stubenviertel", with its unique facades, narrow alleys and numerous courtyards, it is the ideal base for a business trip or a long, relaxing weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Adagio Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adagio Vienna City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.