We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful amenities and comfy bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio Vienna City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Adagio Vienna City to your Saves list
Adagio Vienna City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urania Strasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40 %
Ranked #89 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Santa Barbara,Ca
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful amenities and comfy bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room feels like a train car for a bit, mainly because you have to move the cushions off the couch and pull the Murphy bed down when you want to go to sleep, but that said, it's a very comfortable Murphy bed. The room is efficiently set up with a dining table you slide out from under the desk, and a remarkably functional kitchen with 2 burners and a large enough refrigerator to keep a week's worth of food. Once you add that on top of the fact that they have coin laundry in the basement - next to the workout room and saunas. . it's pretty much everything you need for a week in Vienna.

The whole place is very clean, staff is multi-lingual and very helpful, and it is in a great location, on the NorthWest corner of the ring, and only a few blocks (okay, maybe 5 blocks) away from Schwedenplatz - the nearest subway stop - which also had a nice flea market on Wednesday morning, and a good selection of cheap fast food.

Room Tip: We were told that November is the best time to visit as most of the political interns that show up i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank a lot for your comments. We are very happy to hear that your stay in hotel Adagio was very nice.
Your feed back will help us to our service level on the best standard.

With bests regards

Anna Palumbieri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    156
    46
    8
    6
See reviews for
83
179
23
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have stayed at a few Adagio aparthotels and found this one to be good and well equipped. The location is excellent, with the tram outside the door and the underground a short walk. We bought a Vienna Card and used the tram constantly. The space in the apartment was fine for two people. We were able to cook meals without any problem. We found the reception staff - especially the gentleman from Nepal - very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your feed back.
It will be helpful us to our service level on the best standard.
We are happy to hear that you have passed a beutiful time in hotel Adagio.

We will be happy to welcome you again soon.
With bests regards

Anna Palumbieri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the kitchen is well-equipped with anything you might need during your stay. There is a grocery store about a couple of blocks away which is helpful if you plan to eat in your room. There is also tons of storage space/closet space which is helpful for a longer stay.

Several metro stops are within walking distance, or it is only a mile to walk to several of the touristy locations. The price we got for our room was really good compared to other hotels in the area.

If you use conditioner or hand lotion, make sure to bring your own because the hotel only provides a bottle of shampoo/body wash.

We didn't experience any problems with rude staff, but it seems like other reviewers did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaHolzhauer, Geschäftsführer at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments on Trip Advisor with us and I am happy to pass on your nice words to all the team.

It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Aparthotel

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Best regards,
Sonja Holzhauer
General Manager
Adagio Wien Zentrum
h7216-gm@adagio-city.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here as the last stop of a European vacation. The man who received us at reception didn't seem to want to be bothered with getting us acquainted with the aparthotel or surrounding area. He didn't even tell us we need our room card to activate just about everything from the elevators, most doors (especially the main door at night) and room lighting. However all other staff we encountered during our stay was much nicer. Location is pretty good, not far from the city center and a short walk to the Stephenplatz subway stop. If you stay less than a week you do not get any maid service. The breakfast for 13 Euros is quite basic and not worth the price at all. The coffee available for self-service in the breakfast area was also overpriced and the automatic machine, while cheaper, only gave you a little plastic dixie cup. Laundry was also quite expensive, having to spend 7.50 Euros for a single wash and dry. And there are only 2 small washers and 1 dryer available. Wi-fi only in the lobby with cables available in your room, there is also a single computer available for guest use in the lobby. Our rooms themselves were the smallest we had on our trip, with the bed folding out of the wall where the couch is. The bed was also quite stiff and sheets a little rough feeling. How this hotel is currently ranked #36 of hotels in Vienna I don't know, it should be more to the middle of the pack at best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaHolzhauer, Geschäftsführer at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We want to apologize for the experience you have made at our Aparthotel.
We are especially very sorry that we missed to explain you how our key card system works and for the inconvenience we caused.

Rest assured that we will do everything we can to meet your expectations and to provide you with quality service in your next stay.

As compensation it would be a pleasure for us to give you an upgrade to a two room apartment during your next stay . This way you can experience our bigger apartments which apparently better fits your needs.

I'm looking forward to take care of your following booking personally, please contact me directly so I can arrange the reservation.

Best regards from Vienna,

Sonja Holzhauer
General Manager
Adagio Wien Zentrum
h7216-gm@adagio-city.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very nice accommodation as a service apt. Very modern and nicely equipped. Great for those wanting to cook for themselves - supermarket one block away. Good location - 10 Min. walk to Stephenplatz. No complaints. Only cable internet in rooms, but wi-fi avail. in lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaHolzhauer, Geschäftsführer at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our apartotel. An excellent treatment of our guests is first priority to us. Your feedback will help us to keep our service level on the best standard. We will be happy to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,

Sonaj Holzhauer
General Manager
Adagio Wien Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

How this place has such good reviews on here makes me suspicious, whilst staying in the hotel almost every guest I met or overheard was complaining - mainly on deaf ears. I've never came across such rude staff in the tourism industry, anything you said to the reception was like an effort followed by huffs and puffs or oh I can't do that.

The bedroom was small, with fairly adequate basic facilities however the shower had not been cleaned and the water wouldn't drain away, after numerous times of asking they finally sorted it out.

They switch the automatic doors off so early you must always take your room key with you, I came back to find the door locked even at 7pm!!! Ridiculous, nobody was answering the door bell! As for €13 for breakfast ha that's just a joke!

Do yourself a favour and don't stay here, it's over priced, basic, unfriendly staff who couldn't care less and there are better options at proper hotels!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaHolzhauer, Geschäftsführer at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear foxybabee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay in the Adagio Wien Zentrum.

We are sorry that it did not meet your expectations, and we would like to offer you a sincere apology. As you noticed by reading the reviews from our hotel, this is not the kind of service we aim to offer to our guests. Especially that you did not feel welcome in our aparthotel and that the reception did not help you with your request is of cause a situation which we need to work on. We made immediately a meeting with our staff und we made a training plan to make sure that this situation will not happen again to a guest of our hotel.

We like to thank you regarding the advice that there is no information at the door, that you need to use our key card in the evening to open the door. We have written today a message which is now visible at the door.

Your satisfaction is important to us, so we would like to make up for your unpleasant
stay. Please be so kind a have a look at your personal message as well.
It would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Adagio Wien Zentrum.

Yours faithfully,

Sonja Holzhauer
General Manager
Adagio Wien Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

For Adagio i can not tell it is bad. But if you visit Vienna not for business, i will not recommend. The hotel is without any soul. But it is near of center, clean etc. But before check in ask for street view. The garden view is not good. You will only see building walls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adagio Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Vienna City

Address: Urania Strasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Vienna
#65 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#82 Business Hotel in Vienna
#95 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio City Vienna is located in the heart of Vienna, right next to Julius-Raab-Platz and in close proximity to the ring road and the historical city center. We offer 124 fully equipped rooms, from studios for 2 people to 2-room apartments for 4 people. Located in the "Stubenviertel", with its unique facades, narrow alleys and numerous courtyards, it is the ideal base for a business trip or a long, relaxing weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Adagio Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adagio Vienna City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.