We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem Priced as a Found Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kristian's Monastiri

Kristian's Monastiri
Neustiftgasse 16, Vienna A-1070, Austria (Neubau)
+43 1 5269448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #375 of 2,858 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Neubau
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Priced as a Found Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

When I searched for this restaurant to review, I was a bit shocked by how low it was in the TripAdvisor rankings. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal and though our waiter was a bit inattentive, the bartender was a fantastic stand-in.

The restaurant is hidden in an old Monastery just outside the Ring Road. The food was excellently prepared and quite interesting.

The drawback is the price... this meal cost nearly what I would expect to pay in Paris, which amounted to almost 50% more than every other dinner we enjoyed in Vienna. That being said, we left thoroughly satisfied with our meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    46
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delightful menu for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were a group of 5, booked from our hotel. Graciously welcomed and seated, and our round of cocktails arrived quickly and with great service. 2 waiters served the whole dining room of about 10 occupied tables, never frazzled or rushed. The menu is carefully crafted and varied, and included all tastes of meat, seafood and vegetarian. dishes had handsome presentation, all served hot at once. Deserts delightful. The ambiance is pleasing and quiet. I would definitely go back.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ok but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Had to send a tough steak back, which was unfortunate. Although the waiter telling me that all steaks from that cut could be tough was not reassuring at all.
Some really good bits - the salmon starter being one - but overall it's expensive for what you get.
Nice atmosphere, however I would try somewhere else next time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munchendorf, Austria
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Inconspicuous and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The atmosphere is very cozy and invites to a nice relaxed evening. The staff is unremarkably Ok and the food is nicely arranged and of good quality, but not spectacular. It's not a top class restaurant, but well above average. Enjoy this quiet place with your friends or partner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“A Lovely Date-Night Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It's a bit pricey, but the best beef I've had in Europe (yes, including the Michelin's). Plan on a relaxing intimate dinner with a great bottle of wine and a quiet setting.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kristian's Monastiri also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Kristian's Monastiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kristian's Monastiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.