We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austria at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mozart

Cafe Mozart
Albertinaplatz 2, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
+43 1 24100200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 2,878 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Austrian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Greater London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Austria at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you want European afternoon tea (coffee or chocolate) this is a must. Cosy down out of the cold, friends & I whiled away a lovely afternoon chatting over drinks & pastries

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    295
    98
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
eastchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Lunch or Dinner or just coffee when in Vienna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner here during our recent trip to Vienna. You need to appreciate that you are paying for the location and ringside seating in the Vienna... but unlike many other tourist traps the Cafe Mozart offers some excellent food and wonderful desserts.

I had a mixed sausage platter that was plentiful and very tasty. My wife had the Wiener Schnitzel and loved it.

Dessert was excellent as was the coffee!

Service was excellent and friendly...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“They are sleek cheaters. Watch out what they sell to you.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We need a light meal and decided to try it since we read so much about this place on internet. They were snub and sleazy cheaters. Yes, food was decent.
Here we got charged for tap water at higher price than bottle water. After a few days buying bottle water, we were told that Tap water in Vienna is safe to drink. Since then, we always asked for tap water and was free.
However, the server at Cafe Mozart charged 2 orders of tap water, we did not ask for second one, but he brought it after seeing glasses were empty. On top of it, he charged 2 rolls, which we thought, comes with pasta we ordered. Yes, we did not order 2 rolls. Tap water and rolls were not listed on the MENU! So, we don't even know the price, yet he charged over 6 Euro (equivalent of $10) for those.
We questioned server, all he said was, "you did not say no to rolls". We were so disgusted and we did not tip him. This is very first time in my 60 year life that I did not tip at restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“€5.50 for a coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Title says it all. Yes, Mozart on the coffee cup, yes it is opposite the Albertina, yes it is Vienna. Just don't sit here by accident, you will pay for the rent of the chair. Nice coffee. Had coffee and cake in the Wagner Pavilion on Karlsplatz for the same price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The home of the apple strudel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were looking for a place to have lunch. We were attracted by the looks of the place. Usually a place with people should be a nice place to try, so that's what we did. Food was well served and perfectly presented. Also the flavor. We ask for a wiener schnitzel, really nice. After the lunch we had a DIE MELANGE coffee and and apple strudel. That was really it. The desert was fabulous, the ice cream perfect I enjoy it like a little kid. The place is a little bit expensive so if you are here and you don't want to spend to much money I would definitely go for the desert and have a main dish else where. Still if you can go for the complete thing you should have it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mozart also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mozart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.