We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous sushi in the heart of vienna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenmaya - CLOSED

Tenmaya
Krugerstrasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)
+ 43 1 512 73 97
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fabulous sushi in the heart of vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

if you love sushi it is a must that you visit this restaurant within the main pedestrian area of vienna. the quality of the dishes coupled with the professional friendly service makes for an excellnt evening experience. The majority of the guests appear to be of japanese origin which says it all really.it is not cheap, expect to pay around 50€ per person but it certainly is worth it. In short a sushi lovers paradise in the heart of Vienna.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very reasonably priced Japanese food in the heart of Vienna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

So after you've strolled down Kartner strasse, you are quite hungry, take a turn left and go to Tenmaya. Order one of the menu's which are cheap (here in Holland we pay more for some all you can eat places) and nice and filling. Have some sake (unfortunately I did not find any plum wines on the menu) or a nice bear. When we visited everything was full, but being out on the terrace was no punishment at all. Although making reservations would be smart, if we hadn't just wandered into it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Tenmaya looks and feels completely authentic, it wouldn't be out of place at the 6th floor of a department store at Tokyo station. Most of the staff is Japanese, and the owners seem to place a strong emphasis on serving the best quality, most authentic Japanese fine cuisine that is achievable outside of Japan. The prices reflect this effort, but you certainly get your money's worth.
Set menus follow the typical Japanese 5-6 course meal recipe, and are certainly enough to satisfy the hunger of all but the most hungry travelers.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good taste and reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I visited almost 70 countries in the world.
And in which countries, I always try to find Japanese restaurants.
I went to Tenmaya in Wien to take dinner as a natural result.
Tenmaya is a department store in Japan.
I don't know why but it runs restaurant in Wien.
There I took sashimi moriawase (assorted fresh fish)
and huumi zaru-udon zen (cool noodle, tenpura and onigiri(=rice ball).
The previous day I was in Rome and I went to Hamasei, a Japanese restaurant.
There I took sashimi moriawase, tenpura and sanuki udon (hot soop noodle).
And sometimes I take sushi.
I was so much satisfied in Rome and Wien,
Tenmaya is reasonable, Hamasei is rather expensive and high class.
After Wien, I also took Japanese food in Salzburg and Berlin.
(I'd like to add photos but I don't know how)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

After seeing the good reviews for Tenmaya I decided to try lunch there. The outside seating is nothing especially appealing, but service was swift (dind't really see the inside, hence can't comment). At lunch the entire menu seems to be available, plus several lunch combos. There's a websire that has all menus (http://www.tenmaya.at/tenmaya/). I had the Teppan lunch box (Shake/salmon), which was very comprehensive and filling, and all spot-on done. Very unusual for lunch which at Japanese restaurants often offers cheaper, but also quickly prepared, fare. This Teppan box was excellent. Also tried some Unagi - at about 4,50 Eur per piece a bit on the pricey side, but fabulous. Overall, excellent place, especially for lunch.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenmaya also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenmaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.