We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, pleasant & professional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Senator

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Senator to your Saves list
Hotel Senator
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105, Vienna A-1170, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, pleasant & professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a week while I was in Vienna. The hotel was about a 2 minute walk from the tram stop that takes you right into the Ringstrausse (it’s on the same road), so getting to the sights is not an issue. It is about a 10 minute ride to the Ringstrausse. I would have preferred a hotel within walking distance of the Ringstrausse, but I was on a budget. The hotel had air-conditioning, but while I was in Vienna the temperatures were in the comfortable 70s so I didn’t need it.

My room size was more than adequate, and it was clean (as was the hotel). The breakfast was good, with a selection of hot and cold dishes. The menu did not change from day to day however. I slept very well; the bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet.

There is a Laundromat down the street about a 5 minute walk (on the same side as the hotel, in the opposite direction from the tram stop) . There is also a pizza shop serving inexpensive pizza and cold beer near the Laundromat (again the same side of the street as the hotel).

The staff answered all of my questions about directions and sights professionally. A note of caution: watch out for their advice when seeking information about the outskirts of Vienna. I wanted to visit the vinyards, wine gardens and Vienna Woods. I asked if my public transit pass would take me to Leopoldsberg and was told no; I checked with tourist information and they stated that it is in the Vienna Public Transit system; I took the trip and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear james_tesol_teacher,

what a great review!

I am very happy to read your kind words about your stay in our house.
Thank you also for your general feedback and descriptions. It helps us to improve our service in order to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
I am very sorry for the wrong information about the outskirts of Vienna and so we retrained our reception staff referring all public transportations.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit soon!

Best regards from Vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    264
    75
    20
    16
See reviews for
82
290
35
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cremona, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel not far from the center.
Room was clean and tidy.
Personnel was kind and efficient, ready to support you for any need or request.
Breakfast more then good
Suggested for people seeking good quality at decent price

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Paolo F,

thank you for your great feedback!

I was very pleased to read your review about our good service and that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our house. I passed your kind words to our proud team!

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again in our Senator Hotel Vienna!

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A little way outside the centre but has good tram/bus routes immediately outside. Excellent and comfortable room very well insulated and soundproofed. Hotel Garni only (bed and breakfast). Breakfast good with helpful and attentive staff. Small bar in lobby with reasonable prices. Not much sitting space in the lobby but friendly and helpful staff. BBC and SKY News TV plus latest films (free).

Room Tip: Only two Lifts and a bit slow so go for 2nd Floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Schalichfield,

Thank you very much for choosing our Senator Hotel Vienna and your review about your stay with us. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit!

I am very happy to hear about the comfortable room and the staff’s kindness and do much appreciate your words! This helps us to improve ourselves and the service for our future guests.

The whole Senator Hotel Team is looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards from vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Clean hotel and helpful staff.

Bedroom lovely and clean with good size bed and plenty of space for clothes - OK - not huge but great for a weekend. Bathroom clean and good shower (no bath) - but hey ho you just need to refresh yourself. Daily cleaning of rooms.... spotless.

Breakfast is buffet - something for everyone but a little crowded.

Lots of single people travelling alone which I think is always a recommendation

Would certainly recommend and would book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear EyeSpyaFly,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay in our Senator Hotel Vienna.

I was very pleased to read your feedback about the cleanliness of your room and the helpful stuff.
Your kind words are well appreciated and have already been passed to the responsible department.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our beautiful Senator Hotel.

Kind regards and "servus" from Vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice and clean room, under 10min by tram (number 43) to Schottentor. From here you can walk in 5min to Stephansplatz. If you're arriving by train at Westbahnhof take tram 9, which takes about 10min. The stop is Rosensteingasse and the hotel is next to Lidl.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Simonelagos,

thank you for your stay in our house and for taking the time to post this very nice review about your experience.
I was happy to read that you pointed out how excellent the transport system works in Vienna and how easy it is to reach different locations - Perfect in order to explore the city!

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time in Vienna and I am looking forward to welcoming you again in our Senator Hotel .

Warm regards from vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall not too bad but nothing great either. Rooms are at least modern and clean, good quality beds and decent bathrooms. Free wifi throughout the hotel (as there should be) and friendly staff on reception. We just used the hotel to sleep at night as we were out and about from first thing until late each day, certainly not the kind of place to hang out.

Location is a bit of a pain, we took taxis because the alternative involves tram, train, and change to a different train which is just too much hassle.

Reasonable 3 star hotel but my advice is to skip breakfast as it's awful. The bare basics of cold options and nothing hot apart from stale looking scrambled eggs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Craig,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Senator Hotel.
I was very pleased to learn that you were overall satisfied with our hotel and our friendly staff.
Our hotel is situated in the 17th district, from where you can directly take tram 43 to the city center - no change is needful and it takes you just 15 minutes.
Also i want to thank you for your feedback refering our breakfast. Everything will be discussed in our next team meeting, because the main aim of all of us is, to have satisfied guests who love to return again to Senator Hotel Vienna.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards from vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel punches well above its weight for guest care,facilities and convenience. There is air conditioning in the rooms. It was not required when I visited. You can book for Bed and breakfast, half board, (tour groups tend to do this) or room only, as we did.. Finding Lidl's next door was an added bonus.

Hotel Senator may not be in the city centre, nor in a glamorous district, but, none of that matters. In this city there is a great transport system. Just outside the hotel there are tram stops, for two tram routes. In one direction, you can get to Schloss Schonbrunn, the summer palace of the Hapsburg rulers, which, is a lovely palace with delightful park lands a maze and other attractions, to go visit.

In the opposite direction, you can get to a main tram/metro interchange, within 5-7 minutes. From there you can pick up a good cup of coffee to go, at ground level, change onto other trams,or, at the lower level, there are shops, fresh fruit stalls to browse, and more transport options. In all, if you do not stop to browse, a trip into the very heart of fashionable Vienna can take about a comfortable 15-20 minutes.

The reception staff at the hotel are welcoming and helpful. If you have not got a suitable electric adaptor plug, reception have a variety to loan upon payment of a security deposit of €20, which, is returned to you when you hand back the adaptor you have borrowed. There are elevators to all floors. Out of breakfast hours, there is a bar operated by reception staff where you can get hot drinks, soft drinks and alcoholic ones. There were two Applemac computers, always connected to the internet, in reception, for guest use. Otherwise, free wifi is available in the hotel guest rooms; it can sometimes be a bit slow, but on the whole, it was very satisfactory.

There are some transport travel tickets available at the desk, however, a little place called Tabak Traffik a few steps to the left of the front entrance, is where you would get the variety of tickets to suit your needs, We were advised to purchase travel tickets from authorised Tabaks, (Trafik). The most economic ticket for all forms of Vienna transport runs from Monday to Monday. If your days do not tie in with that pattern, then it is worth thinking about buying a flexible eight ticket strip, which can be used for more than one person any day of the week. It would provide four days Vienna travel for two people. Each ticket MUST be validated on the day of use (on the tram or train). The transport system is well policed by ticket inspectors. 48 and 72 hour tickets can be used in the mix or travel arrangements, if required.

The hotel can arrange for a taxi to meet you at the airport if you let them know in advance. At the time of writing this review, a taxi to the hotel would cost about €37 in total, for up to four people and possibly a few euros more if the driver takes your luggage to the vehicle. Having discovered how easy it was to travel to and from the hotel, we used up our last day's travel tickets to go by tram to get to the airport bus.The airport bus was not expensive and the bus journey was efficient, taking a relatively short time to arrive at destination.

Room servicing was excellent, every day our room was very well serviced. We felt well looked after. There was a safe in the room. Our room was bright and airy; there was a telephone; we had a flat screen TV offering lots of international channels; there was a desk, good room lighting, and lots of storage space. The ensuite was fitted with a sink, W.C. and thermostatic shower in a cubicle, (the shower had a good water flow). A hair dryer was provided, it was good. Basic toiletries were provided.

The Hotel Senator is to be highly recommended.

Room Tip: On arrival ask for a quiet room. Ours was over a courtyard, which was quite good and nice to look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Mr ZAC_ZACL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us for which we are very grateful and I have passed your kind words to all the team.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us very much appreciate your reccommendation.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit to Vienna and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of any further assistance.

Best regards and "servus" aus Wien

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Senator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senator

Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105, Vienna A-1170, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Senator 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter where you want to go to in Vienna, it's best to start at Senator Hotel**** Vienna. Perfectly connected by public transport, you can reach the hotspots of the city within only 10 minutes by tram number 43. Culture enthusiasts profit from the direct connection to the numerous sights of Ringstrasse and the first district. Gourmets and nature lovers take the tram out of town to find innumerable wine taverns of the Viennese wine-growing area as well as the gate to Vienna's green lungs - the Vienna Woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Senator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Senator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.