We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel - decent rooms, free Wifi, bad location, disappointing breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Senator

Save Saved
You added Hotel Senator to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Senator
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105 | 1170 Vienna, Vienna A-1170, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“OK hotel - decent rooms, free Wifi, bad location, disappointing breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall not too bad but nothing great either. Rooms are at least modern and clean, good quality beds and decent bathrooms. Free wifi throughout the hotel (as there should be) and friendly staff on reception. We just used the hotel to sleep at night as we were out and about from first thing until late each day, certainly not the kind of place to hang out.

Location is a bit of a pain, we took taxis because the alternative involves tram, train, and change to a different train which is just too much hassle.

Reasonable 3 star hotel but my advice is to skip breakfast as it's awful. The bare basics of cold options and nothing hot apart from stale looking scrambled eggs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Craig,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Senator Hotel.
I was very pleased to learn that you were overall satisfied with our hotel and our friendly staff.
Our hotel is situated in the 17th district, from where you can directly take tram 43 to the city center - no change is needful and it takes you just 15 minutes.
Also i want to thank you for your feedback refering our breakfast. Everything will be discussed in our next team meeting, because the main aim of all of us is, to have satisfied guests who love to return again to Senator Hotel Vienna.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards from vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    278
    71
    19
    10
See reviews for
68
260
31
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel punches well above its weight for guest care,facilities and convenience. There is air conditioning in the rooms. It was not required when I visited. You can book for Bed and breakfast, half board, (tour groups tend to do this) or room only, as we did.. Finding Lidl's next door was an added bonus.

Hotel Senator may not be in the city centre, nor in a glamorous district, but, none of that matters. In this city there is a great transport system. Just outside the hotel there are tram stops, for two tram routes. In one direction, you can get to Schloss Schonbrunn, the summer palace of the Hapsburg rulers, which, is a lovely palace with delightful park lands a maze and other attractions, to go visit.

In the opposite direction, you can get to a main tram/metro interchange, within 5-7 minutes. From there you can pick up a good cup of coffee to go, at ground level, change onto other trams,or, at the lower level, there are shops, fresh fruit stalls to browse, and more transport options. In all, if you do not stop to browse, a trip into the very heart of fashionable Vienna can take about a comfortable 15-20 minutes.

The reception staff at the hotel are welcoming and helpful. If you have not got a suitable electric adaptor plug, reception have a variety to loan upon payment of a security deposit of €20, which, is returned to you when you hand back the adaptor you have borrowed. There are elevators to all floors. Out of breakfast hours, there is a bar operated by reception staff where you can get hot drinks, soft drinks and alcoholic ones. There were two Applemac computers, always connected to the internet, in reception, for guest use. Otherwise, free wifi is available in the hotel guest rooms; it can sometimes be a bit slow, but on the whole, it was very satisfactory.

There are some transport travel tickets available at the desk, however, a little place called Tabak Traffik a few steps to the left of the front entrance, is where you would get the variety of tickets to suit your needs, We were advised to purchase travel tickets from authorised Tabaks, (Trafik). The most economic ticket for all forms of Vienna transport runs from Monday to Monday. If your days do not tie in with that pattern, then it is worth thinking about buying a flexible eight ticket strip, which can be used for more than one person any day of the week. It would provide four days Vienna travel for two people. Each ticket MUST be validated on the day of use (on the tram or train). The transport system is well policed by ticket inspectors. 48 and 72 hour tickets can be used in the mix or travel arrangements, if required.

The hotel can arrange for a taxi to meet you at the airport if you let them know in advance. At the time of writing this review, a taxi to the hotel would cost about €37 in total, for up to four people and possibly a few euros more if the driver takes your luggage to the vehicle. Having discovered how easy it was to travel to and from the hotel, we used up our last day's travel tickets to go by tram to get to the airport bus.The airport bus was not expensive and the bus journey was efficient, taking a relatively short time to arrive at destination.

Room servicing was excellent, every day our room was very well serviced. We felt well looked after. There was a safe in the room. Our room was bright and airy; there was a telephone; we had a flat screen TV offering lots of international channels; there was a desk, good room lighting, and lots of storage space. The ensuite was fitted with a sink, W.C. and thermostatic shower in a cubicle, (the shower had a good water flow). A hair dryer was provided, it was good. Basic toiletries were provided.

The Hotel Senator is to be highly recommended.

Room Tip: On arrival ask for a quiet room. Ours was over a courtyard, which was quite good and nice to look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Mr ZAC_ZACL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us for which we are very grateful and I have passed your kind words to all the team.
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us very much appreciate your reccommendation.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit to Vienna and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of any further assistance.

Best regards and "servus" aus Wien

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We booked 4 nights with breakfast included, in the late august. We stood in a standard double room, quite spacious for our needs, very clean, but with twin-beds (unfortunately). We had wireless in all the room, which was perfect, and downstairs, near the reception, there were 2 Apple PCs, which can be very handy if you want to print boarding passes for instance. Also, near the elevator, there was a vendor machine where you can buy drinks and some snacks, which can be very useful during the weekend, where all nearby stores were closed, even the Lidl supermarket near the hotel. The breakfast was very diversified, no complaints at all in regards of that. The hotel is close to Tram station which was convenient for local transport system. Overall, i would recommend it for a trip to Vienna, due to its convenient price, cleanliness and kindness of personnel.
The only incident that we experienced is that our iron brought from home, was taken by the person who was responsible to clean the room, most likely supposing that it belonged to the hotel. We managed to recover it after all, with no major conflicts with the staff. But other than that, no other issues or complaints during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Cotovanu,

thank you very much for your stay in our house and your wonderful feedback. It makes me and the whole team very proud!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time in vienna and in our hotel and hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards from vienna
Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights. The hotel is clean, very quiet and the rooms are comfortable with everything you'd need. The staff are friendly and the location, although not central, has great tram connections to get you to the metro and on to wherever you need in Vienna.

Two minor issues. The room temperature - it was too hot, and even with windows open or air-con it was very warm overnight. Also, couldn't get out of the hotel entrance in the morning, as drivers for tour parties were stood smoking in the doorway... an annoyance more than a problem.

Overall very good "value for money" option for staying in Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Chagra,

thank you very much for you review and your very nice feedback!
We hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our house.

Best regards from vienna
Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

In Vienna I choose Senator Hotel and very happy for it.
VERY ACCURATE, CLEAR hotel with KINDNESS personal.
Very good breakfast, free luggage room, free Wi-Fi in rooms and in lobby bar.

I strongly recommend it for all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mr Mikayel,
thank you very much for your feedback!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your satisfaction.
it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our hotel!

Best regards from vienna
Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've just visited Hotel Senator again (after first visiting it in 2011). The hotel is still impressive given its price range.

The rooms are very clean, modern and spacious - this is true for all rooms except the ones on the 5th floor overlooking Gschwandnergasse, which are smaller.
Rooms don't have a minibar or a tea kettle (I think these are present at 4* hotels only), but they do have LCD TVs, comfy beds and a safe.

Breakfast is in line with other 3* hotels - scrambled eggs, pancakes, ham, bacon, baloney, yoghurt, fruits, cheese, cereals (including whole wheat cereals), milk, pastries, jams, some bread and a small selection of juices.
If you need to get some water or snacks you can go to Lidl (which is in the same building), or go by tram 43 towards Schottentor to Billa. Lidl is a low-cost retailer (which means you'll find decent quality products at really low prices), while Billa in a standard retailer which also has higher quality products. We bought water from Lidl and snacks from both Billa and Lidl.

As other reviewers mentioned, a great thing about the hotel is its position - it's not really close to the center, but you can get any major attraction in about 15 minutes. I've included all the popular transportation options in a previous review, but will reiterate them here:

- Take tram 43 towards Schottentor in order to get to the city centre. It takes about 15 minutes. The tram stop is about 50m to the right (as you get out of the hotel). The station name is Rosensteingasse. At Schottentor all the major attractions from the city center are within walking distance - Votivkirche, The Parliament, Hofburg, Buttlerfly house, Albertina, Opera, Natural History Musem etc.

- Take tram 9 towards Westbanhof if you want to get to the Westbanhof train station or the famous shopping street Mariahilfer strasse. Tram 9 shares the stop with tram 43.

- Take bus 10A if you want to get to the Schonbrunn castle. You have to walk about 5 minutes to the station (go left once you get out of the hotel) until you get to the Wattgasse / Hernalser Hauptstrasse intersection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mr Lucian,
thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation!
We always try our best, that our guests enjoy their stay in our house.
Hope to see you again very soon

Best regards from vienna

Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Vienna and found our hotel very clean and convenient. Reception staff is helpful and location was great. Connections to trams is excellent which takes you to the city centre in 15 minutes. Hotel breakfast was priced too high but there is a supermarket Liedl next door which serves hot croissants /strudels which are very filling. Would have been nice to have a fridge and a kettle in the room. The only downside was that the shops close very early by 6:30 pm so bear that in mind. All in all , a great stay !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia K, Manager at Hotel Senator, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mrs Natasha,

thank you very much for your very nice feedback!
Hope to welcome you again in our house very soon.

Best regards from vienna
Cornelia Köller
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Senator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senator

Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105 | 1170 Vienna, Vienna A-1170, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#97 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Senator 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter where you want to go to in Vienna, it's best to start at Senator Hotel**** Vienna. Perfectly connected by public transport, you can reach the hotspots of the city within only 10 minutes by tram number 43. Culture enthusiasts profit from the direct connection to the numerous sights of Ringstrasse and the first district. Gourmets and nature lovers take the tram out of town to find innumerable wine taverns of the Viennese wine-growing area as well as the gate to Vienna's green lungs - the Vienna Woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Senator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Senator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.