We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Asian food in reasonable place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Wei Restaurant

Le Wei Restaurant
Heinrichsgasse 6 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)
+43 1 5330770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 2,882 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Inner City
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Asian food in reasonable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Taken to the restaurant by my friend who has been eating here for a decade. It was a change after 2 weeks of European food. The atmosphere was homely and the food was definitely worth of money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We wish we had this restaurant at home! We'd be back over and over! The Chinese chicken with vegetables, garlic and ginger dish in a pan was delicious! We are from California and were craving some good fresh vegetables. What a treat! The waitress spoke fluent English. Great experience!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The service was a bit slow, but that's a signal that the food is going to be good. The starters are huge, we ordered Gyoza and Wan Tan and we were already full. As main course we ordered Crispy Duck, expensive but worth it, the quantity can feed two people easily, it came with a bowl of sauce and a bed of soya sprouts. Frequented by locals, I would recommend if you are looking for something different.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stirling
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Food was great, really well priced and waiter (and also owner I think) was really friendly and helpful.
Only slight issue was that for vegetarians I didn't think there was a lot of choice, especially if you don't like tofu.
We sat outside which was great so not sure what the interior was like.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Adequate.....at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Read all the glowing reviews on this restaurant and, needing a little break from the heavy Bavarian food we'd been eating for 2 weeks, i suggested a change of pace & sold the family on giving this place a chance. Immediate sign of worry when our taxi driver didn't have have a clue where this place was and had to call the restaurant 3 times to get us there. Place doesn't impress from the outside, where there were several chairs & tables OR the inside-- which was hot and filled with asian customers. Woman told us we could sit outside or no table...so we sat outside. Took 20 minutes to get our water & a beer....then another 15 to get our order placed. Just about ready to leave 10 euro on the table & bolt to another fill of schnitzel when waitress, unfortunately, brought my won ton soup. So we felt obligated to stay the course. Won Ton soup just ok....nothing special. The duck w/ noodles i ordered was very average...and fatty. Chicken my daughter ordered was decent but overall, there is NOTHING about this place that would tell me to recommend it to anyone. No atmosphere as you sit outside w/ the feeling you at a table in the middle of an alley--- which is about right. Even though it is very low in cost, we are eating at a restaurant in Vienna on vacation to experience a decent meal & don't mind paying for that. Sorry, but this place is a one and never again for us!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Wei Restaurant also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Le Wei Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Wei Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.