We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and High Class Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and High Class Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very high class hotel with its perfect location in the historic city of Vienna. The Reception staff was really very nice and friendly, the service is in this hotel was just TOP!!!
I could say that the value of money to stay in a such beautiful, modern and a luxury hotel in the heart of Vienna, and the rooms are also very good and clean and really comfortable.
The restaurant was also nice with its modern food. We will come next time. 100% Sure.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear sandra_sandro22!

Many thanks for your honest review of your recent stay with us. We are certainly happy that you enjoyed your time at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. We appreciated a lot to read that you enjoyed the city and our hotel services and staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from Vienna,

Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    244
    69
    14
    11
See reviews for
118
424
42
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sonning
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location for visiting the city. Most important attractions are within easy walking distance. Also just around the corner is the underground station for accessing more far flung places like the Schoenbrunner palace. Allow a day for this visit. We also bought the Vienna card for Euros 22 which allows 72 hour free use of the metro etc and gives a modest reduction in some of the attractions.

The negative was the hotel restaurant where we waited over an hour for our first course and then the food when it arrived was only luke warm. The staff in the restaurant were very pleasant but this did not make up for the poor service and food. The food was also costly and not good value for money. We complained to the hotel reception and they were of course very sorry. We expected a short note from the manager but all we received was a "gambling chip" to the value of 10 Euros placed in an envelope on our bed. Poor response we felt.

Room Tip: We had room 218 which was spacious and light with a high quality bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just returned from a four-night stay. The location cannot be beat, and the room was generally spacious and well appointed. Housekeeping did a good job as well. The front desk staff was typically Viennese, all business, not very warm or friendly.

We ate in the restaurant one evening, and found the food to be overpriced, and nothing very memorable. The hostess/waitress who welcomed us was very nice, and made the experience a nice one.

We were disappointed to see that the hotel, while generally smoke free, does permit smoking in its only bar. The result is that it became a sanctuary for smokers, with a virtual cloud hanging in the space when the room got crowded. We opted to grab our late night drinks at the Radisson next door, where smoking in the bar is not permitted.

I was charged for a 35Euro bar tab when we checked out. I told the front desk clerk that it was not my tab, as I had paid cash the only time we visited the bar, and the signature in the tab was not mine. He just stood there with a blank look on his face until a colleague pointed out that the room number on the tab was not mine.

Would we stay there again should we opt to return to Vienna? Probably not, as it was okay, but there are many other like properties in the area, and there wasn’t anything special about the Steigenberger to draw us back there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We checked out of the Vienna Marriott after one night and were lucky enough to get a room at this lovely hotel. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful, the breakfast that was included with the room was fabulous, the room was perfect. Our room overlooked an alley, which sounds bad but was actually the best location. Far enough away from the street not to hear street noise but we could open the two tall windows and let a breeze blow through. Everything about this hotel is first class. Loved our stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear LaurieMoore!

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof with us. It is a pleasure to read your nice words about our hotel. We are very happy that we fulfilled all your expectations and wishes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from Vienna

Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

In Vienna for 3 days of business meetings. We chose this hotel on the recommendation of a Viennese friend,and she steered us in the right direction. Centrally located, we used the underground to get to our meetings - very easy. After work, we were within minutes of many wonderful places to see and visit, and restaurant options for every budget. The desk staff included several trainees, who were ably supported by their experienced colleagues. No trouble to leave my bags with the concierge while I set off to explore (my flight from the US arrived hours before a room could be reasonably ready - the desk staff emailed me within a couple of hours to let me know my room was ready -- 2 hours before the normal check-in of 3:00 pm). Modern, clean, wonderfully quiet room. The few times I needed a taxi, the desk called one which came very quickly. I would stay here again any time, for business or pleasure.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear DC Translator,

tMany thanks for your friendly comments on your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. We are pleased that you liked the central location and easy access to the public transport network.
It is fantastic that you had a wonderful time in Vienna and in our hotel. Receiving feedback like yours shows us that our daily efforts are being appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards from Vienna,
Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel gets A's for everything. The service, appearance and rooms are great. Everything about the hotel oozes class. The rooms are not the biggest but are sufficient and beautifully decorated. There is a free mini bar in the rooms, nice touch.The staff couldn't have been more efficient and helpful. The bar is great and Manuel served us like a pro. the hotel is very central with the metro station around the corner. there is a large shopping / pedestrian area behind the hotel and the horse and carriage area a few steps away. Everything was clean. they even put a new carpet at the entrance everyday! amazing! Would definitely stay again, no question.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear PetraSA,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us! We are so happy that we were able to create memorable days for your recent stay at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards from Vienna,

Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My experience of German hotels is that they are very down-to-earth. Flat surfaces without any patterns and down-to-earth functionality. They have been getting better over the last decade; with featured walls and a quirk in every room (Damask and a couple of chocolates in the case of the Steigenberger). But there is no getting away from that 'basic-ness'.

Where the Steigenberger Herenhoff differentiated was on three points:- (1) Bend-over-backwards to help reception staff. None of this forced smile or overly-friendly nonsense: (2) Great location away from the eye of the storm in the downtown, but close enough to be within strolling difference; and (3) Warm and snug building and rooms.

What could be better? The Jazz singer in the bar was not very good, all stretched vocals and missing his notes. German hotels still allow smoking, and the poisonous tobacco will penetrate the smallest of cracks (eg the locked adjoining room doors) and there is an unmanned side door which is not secure.

Good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPerwanger, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Fresh1980!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof with us. It is a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable and you recognized the special design of our hotel. It is a mixture of diffent epochs - from baroque to art deco.
We hare happy to tell you that our bar will be a non-smoking area from the date of 3rd may 2015.

We will be happy to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards from Vienna,

Yours Elisabeth Perwanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien

Address: Herrengasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Business Hotel in Vienna
#28 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#33 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable performance at the Burgtheater, window shopping on Graben, a business dinner overlooking Stephansplatz, or a leisurely tour in a horse-drawn carriage, amid the imperial grandeur that gives the city its unique charm - Vienna is in a class of its own.Many of Vienna's greatest attractions are right on our doorstep. Located in the government quarter in the first district, the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof is in the very heart of the old town. The hotel, restaurant, cafe and bar are popular among business and leisure travellers alike. Take a stroll past the Hofburg, Kohlmarkt, State Opera House and the many other nearby sights. Most of Vienna's cultural treasures are just a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.