We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have been warned” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rainers Hotel Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rainers Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
Rainers Hotel Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gudrunstrasse 184, Vienna 1100, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You have been warned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July and it was unbearable. Asked for a fan but told they didn't supply them because the hotel had air con, trouble was that it was almost non-existent and when we walked back into the room, after a long day out, it was like entering a sauna. We were awake most of the nights and that had to face what could have been a reasonable breakfast apart from the slowness in replenish the buffet and a very rude and cross head waiter. The evening meal was disgraceful too, just imagine sitting in a hot restaurant with sweat pouring down your face to be confronted with soup and curry. The dessert might have been ok if I could have summoned up the energy to saw at it with a knife! Location is pretty awful too but at least you should know that that before you arrive. How this rates 4 stars is beyond me, perhaps it earned them when the hotel was not very busy and the weather was much cooler.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion about our hotel.

I am sorry that on this occasion we clearly were not able to perform the high standard service we are usually praised for.

As for the airconditioning problem, we have experienced for the first time in many years, a very long period of hot weather (above 35°C) in Vienna. Our cooling system was not able to cope with these warm temperatures, but I am happy to annouce, that we are going to improve our system until next summer.

We hope you will one day return to Vienna to properly enjoy the citys beauty!

Best regards,

Werner Magedler
Rainers Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    140
    48
    15
    10
See reviews for
37
152
23
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kufstein
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I found the hotel staff friendly,but the rooms were rather small. The main disadvantage was the location. I would not be happy walking in the area at night alone and the transport was either tram or bus(the underground was too far to walk).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a short feedback about your experience with our hotel.

Whilst I am glad to hear that our staff did leave you with a positiv impression, I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations.

Our hotel offers different room categories aswell as packages in order to put together a variety of options to meet our guests needs. I am sorry to hear, that in your case we were not able to offer you the for you most comfortable room category.

The hotel, as you mentioned, is located outside the city center about 10 mins away from the nearest undergroud stop, however by taking the tram you can reach the city center within an app. 15 minutes.
We are situated in a residential area of Vienna and luckily we have never experienced any problems.

I do hope you had an interesting onward journey and arrived back home safely .

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel it self doesn't have many faults. It's nice looking, neat, clean and the staff is friendly.
Why non of that matters is because the location is really bad.
The hotel is set in a very run down part of Vienna, and VERY far from everything!
We ended up only exploring until late afternoon, and making our way back to the hotel, because we didn't feel safe walking around there at night.
Another problem, as with many hotels in Europe, is that they have the central heating on, and you can not do anything about it. It was uncomfortably hot.
We had such a disappointing trip to Vienna, purely because of the location, it put such a damper on all memories I have of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Lana,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at the Rainers Hotel Vienna.

Whilst I am glad to hear, that the service we have provided was in general to your liking, it is very disappointing that the location of our hotel did make you feel uncomfortable.
The area our hotel is situated is a regular residential area with restaurants, bars and small shops. I am sorry, that we were not able to talk about your worries.
The reception is more then happy to explain how to get to the city center the quickest and easiest. For example take the tram number 1 (3 minutes from the hotel) and get of at Kärntner Ring / Oper - which you will reach within app. 15 minutes.

For future reference, Vienna is a safe city, 2nd most livable city in the world and the Viennese are friendly and helpful! We hope you will one day come back and experience its beauty!

Warm regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A three night stay here at the beginning of August - and I would not go there again.
So hot and air conditioning non existent. When someone asked for a fan they were more or less dismissed. Staff generally not that helpful.
Not over impressed with food either - soup and curry when temperature 30 +++. Service very slow too.
Location no good either - miles from anywhere to go/see/eat and rather "seedy" area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for writing a short feedback about your stay beginning of august.

I am very sorry, that we have not been able to meet your expectations during your stay.
We have had uncomfortably hot weather in Vienna the past few weeks, and unfortunately our air conditioning system was not able to cope with it. But please be assured that we look into improving it as soon as possible.
Your feedback about the restaurant, as well as the performance of our staff has been shared with all departmental managers and apropriate actions have been put in action.

I am not sure, if I understand "seedy" area correctly, but we are located in the middle of a residential area. Our reception staff is more then happy to give recommondation about restaurants, bars etc. in the surrounding neighbourhood.

Once again I would like to thank you for your time, and assure you, that your comment has been take very seriously.

Best regards,

Werner Magedler,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here on a Great Rail Trip, but it isn't a hotel we'd choose to stay in again. It's a renovated factory and rooms are modern and clean, if small. It was very hot during our stay and the air conditioning was totally inadequate.
Staff were courteous, but over worked, so service was often slow.
The location is the most negative aspect of this hotel. The city centre is a tram ride away and there are no restaurants or bars within walking distance ( area not too good either).

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you very much for writing a short comment about our hotel, following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear, that your experience with our hotel, did not meet your expectations.
In regards to the air conditioning, we do have to appologize for the poor performance, but please be assured, we do look into improving the excisting system.
Our cooling system aswell as our staff did have some difficulties coping with the extreme hot weather we had the past few weeks in Vienna.

We are located outside the city center in the middle of a residential area. Our reception staff is more the happy to give recommondations about restaurants and bars, or even just a small walking route, in the surrounding area.

I hope you have arrived home savely and will look back on your Great Rail Journey with lots of good memories.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a 3 night stay with great rail journeys. The location was not good as it was too far out to walk after our evening meal. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bedrooms very clean but the air conditioning was non existent. It was 40 degrees when we were there so sleep was uncomfortable. It seemed that there was a shortage of staff to clear and reload the tables on the terrace for breakfast and we ended up searching for cutlery ourselves. The evening meal was good but very slow due again to lack of staff. It was extremely busy with groups like ourselves but in order to cope they have to increase the staff.

Room Tip: One with working air conditioning not floor 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a feedback about your stay. We do take all guest comments very seriously.

Whilst I am glad to hear that our staffs behaviour and housekeeping service have met your expectations, I am disappointed however that we lacked good performance in the restaurant. Please be assured that we will take appropriate action.

In regards to our air conditioning system, due to the extrem hot weather we have had over quite a long period of time, we did experience big difficulties with our the cooling system, but this as well will be looked into.

I hope, never the less, that you have enjoyed your Great Rail Journey, and especially your trip to our beautiful city.

Best regards from Rainers Hotel Vienna,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice clean modern hotel,but the location of it is the worst.15-20 minute walk to keplerpletz station where you will find plenty of shops.two iMacs in lobby with free Internet.if this was in centre of vienna it would be perfect(but the price would be higher)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a short feedback about your stay.
I am glad that, in general, you seemed to have enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned, the hotel is located outside the city centre and a good walk of approx. 10 minutes (or 3 bus stops) away from the next underground stop.
However, our reception is more then happy to help with directions, as there is a quicker way to reach all the main sights of the city.
The tram number 1 for example, which runs every 5 to 10 minutes, depending on the time of day, takes you to the Vienna Stateopera withing 12 minutes. If you take the trams 6 or 18 and the U4 you can reach the Schönbrunn Place within a good 20 minutes.

I would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainers Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainers Hotel Vienna

Address: Gudrunstrasse 184, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#102 Business Hotel in Vienna
#104 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainers Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Rainers Hotel Vienna is a trendy, modern business and city hotel. Located near the city centre of Vienna, it is the perfect base for discovering Vienna and its important sights. Combining history with modern elements, the hotel creates a unique atmosphere of well-being. For lovers of culture, city tourists and business travelers, the hotel offers a modern and stylish ambiance with dedicated employees who know the value of professional service. The variable room design of the seminar hotel's 640 m² events area provides an excellent setting for conferences, presentations, seminars and exclusive meetings. State-of-the-art technology, natural daylight and professional on-site support ensure a comfortable work environment for up to 350 people. The restaurant, with terrace dining in the summer, and the individually adaptable banquet rooms can also be made available for festivities and celebrations. Discover the magic of our creative, light and vitamin-rich cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rainers Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Rainers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainers Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.