We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT,hot,hot.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rainers Hotel Vienna

Save Saved
You added Rainers Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rainers Hotel Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gudrunstrasse 184, Vienna 1100, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“HOT,hot,hot.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A three night stay here at the beginning of August - and I would not go there again.
So hot and air conditioning non existent. When someone asked for a fan they were more or less dismissed. Staff generally not that helpful.
Not over impressed with food either - soup and curry when temperature 30 +++. Service very slow too.
Location no good either - miles from anywhere to go/see/eat and rather "seedy" area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for writing a short feedback about your stay beginning of august.

I am very sorry, that we have not been able to meet your expectations during your stay.
We have had uncomfortably hot weather in Vienna the past few weeks, and unfortunately our air conditioning system was not able to cope with it. But please be assured that we look into improving it as soon as possible.
Your feedback about the restaurant, as well as the performance of our staff has been shared with all departmental managers and apropriate actions have been put in action.

I am not sure, if I understand "seedy" area correctly, but we are located in the middle of a residential area. Our reception staff is more then happy to give recommondation about restaurants, bars etc. in the surrounding neighbourhood.

Once again I would like to thank you for your time, and assure you, that your comment has been take very seriously.

Best regards,

Werner Magedler,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    131
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
34
145
22
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here on a Great Rail Trip, but it isn't a hotel we'd choose to stay in again. It's a renovated factory and rooms are modern and clean, if small. It was very hot during our stay and the air conditioning was totally inadequate.
Staff were courteous, but over worked, so service was often slow.
The location is the most negative aspect of this hotel. The city centre is a tram ride away and there are no restaurants or bars within walking distance ( area not too good either).

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you very much for writing a short comment about our hotel, following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear, that your experience with our hotel, did not meet your expectations.
In regards to the air conditioning, we do have to appologize for the poor performance, but please be assured, we do look into improving the excisting system.
Our cooling system aswell as our staff did have some difficulties coping with the extreme hot weather we had the past few weeks in Vienna.

We are located outside the city center in the middle of a residential area. Our reception staff is more the happy to give recommondations about restaurants and bars, or even just a small walking route, in the surrounding area.

I hope you have arrived home savely and will look back on your Great Rail Journey with lots of good memories.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a 3 night stay with great rail journeys. The location was not good as it was too far out to walk after our evening meal. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bedrooms very clean but the air conditioning was non existent. It was 40 degrees when we were there so sleep was uncomfortable. It seemed that there was a shortage of staff to clear and reload the tables on the terrace for breakfast and we ended up searching for cutlery ourselves. The evening meal was good but very slow due again to lack of staff. It was extremely busy with groups like ourselves but in order to cope they have to increase the staff.

Room Tip: One with working air conditioning not floor 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a feedback about your stay. We do take all guest comments very seriously.

Whilst I am glad to hear that our staffs behaviour and housekeeping service have met your expectations, I am disappointed however that we lacked good performance in the restaurant. Please be assured that we will take appropriate action.

In regards to our air conditioning system, due to the extrem hot weather we have had over quite a long period of time, we did experience big difficulties with our the cooling system, but this as well will be looked into.

I hope, never the less, that you have enjoyed your Great Rail Journey, and especially your trip to our beautiful city.

Best regards from Rainers Hotel Vienna,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice clean modern hotel,but the location of it is the worst.15-20 minute walk to keplerpletz station where you will find plenty of shops.two iMacs in lobby with free Internet.if this was in centre of vienna it would be perfect(but the price would be higher)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a short feedback about your stay.
I am glad that, in general, you seemed to have enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned, the hotel is located outside the city centre and a good walk of approx. 10 minutes (or 3 bus stops) away from the next underground stop.
However, our reception is more then happy to help with directions, as there is a quicker way to reach all the main sights of the city.
The tram number 1 for example, which runs every 5 to 10 minutes, depending on the time of day, takes you to the Vienna Stateopera withing 12 minutes. If you take the trams 6 or 18 and the U4 you can reach the Schönbrunn Place within a good 20 minutes.

I would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I -seniors- stayed for 5 days at this hotel, a few days ago.
The front desk staff was extremely helpful providing us with info, maps,
directions and printouts on all major tourist attractions. The rate was a burgain
and our room comfortable and clean with a very nice bathroom.
The neighbourhood was modest without any suitable restaurants, but
only 15-20 min from hotel to Vienna center on a tram.

Room Tip: away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the moment to write about your recent stay in our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff could support you with helpful information. We will forward your nice words to our reception staff.

It was a pleasure to have you here as our guests and we hope to welcoming you back in near future.

Warm regards from Vienna,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samobor
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is located close to the tram line. It is about a 2 minute walk to the station. You can reach the city center by tram in about 10minutes.
The staff was extremely helpful. The rooms are roomy and clean, and the cleaning service did a great job every morning. Our room (415) was equipped with a flat screen LG TV, a fridge and mini bar, a safe, and complimentary coffee/tea (this was refilled each morning).
The hotel lists parking as 16 Euros per day but they were nice enough to let us use their parking lot for 48 hours free of charge.
Great value for money. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a feedback about your stay in June.

We are happy to hear, that we were able to make you feel comfortable and you have enjoyed the size and the equipment of our rooms. Depending on the season, we offer room packages including parking - so when thinking of coming back, ask for this special offer again!

As you already described, the hotel is close to Matzleinsdorfer Platz Station and by tram you reach the city center within 10 - 15 minutes.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, kent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very pleasant reception staff.
We had room 318 which was lovely and quiet, comfy bed, bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was spotless.
Breakfast was plentiful and had lots of choice.
The transport system was close by both tram and u-bahn. Easy walk to centre.
We bought combined Sisi ticket and found it great value and all the places very interesting with audio tours.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and that is what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team was able to contribute to a warm welcome to Vienna.

I am happy to hear that our fascilities and services were to your liking and I have shared your feedback about your stay with the entire team.
As you mentioned the Sissi Tour, our reception team is around 24/7 and more than happy to assist with tickets and recommondations.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Rainers Hotel Vienna in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainers Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainers Hotel Vienna

Address: Gudrunstrasse 184, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#96 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#118 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainers Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Rainers Hotel Vienna is a trendy, modern business and city hotel. Located near the city centre of Vienna, it is the perfect base for discovering Vienna and its important sights. Combining history with modern elements, the hotel creates a unique atmosphere of well-being. For lovers of culture, city tourists and business travelers, the hotel offers a modern and stylish ambiance with dedicated employees who know the value of professional service. The variable room design of the seminar hotel's 640 m² events area provides an excellent setting for conferences, presentations, seminars and exclusive meetings. State-of-the-art technology, natural daylight and professional on-site support ensure a comfortable work environment for up to 350 people. The restaurant, with terrace dining in the summer, and the individually adaptable banquet rooms can also be made available for festivities and celebrations. Discover the magic of our creative, light and vitamin-rich cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rainers Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Rainers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainers Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.