We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainers Hotel Vienna

Save Saved
You added Rainers Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rainers Hotel Vienna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gudrunstrasse 184, Vienna 1100, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 368 hotels in Vienna
Lasko, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value - nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited for overnight in 2013. Looks comletly new. It is an ex hospital, so outised is looking very dull and unatractive, but inside very modern, beautifull and very clean. The staff is frendly helpful and profesional. Breakfast was very rich and tastefull. We got it at low rate but the service was excelent. Recomend it for people who dont mind out of center location, don+t care for outside apperance.

It is close to Matzleinsdorfer platz station (500m) - with train and tram conections (line 1 connests you to the metro at Karlsplatz station-10 minutes) . I reccomend buing a daily metro ticket for all public tranport sistems (metro, tram and train) - 6 €. However you will need a taxi if you are out after midnight - but the one we had was not very expensive compered to other cities. For center to hotel 15€ (copared to Lyon it is very littlle).

Lot's of parking at the hotel - 16€per day.

I'd take my family there too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Katja Pavcnik,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our team were able to contribute to a warm welcome to Vienna.

We do aim to ensure that all our guests’ stays are as comfortable as possible, and I am so pleased that you would consider visiting us again.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and maybe also your family back to the Rainers Hotel Vienna in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    127
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
32
144
22
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and the accomidations were great. Breakfast was great, since there is no where else to eat in the area for breakfast.The gym is whimpy but it was efficient.They are located right next to a market,several blocks from the metro, if you like to walk it's not a bad walk. Several Metro stops to Stephenplatz, City Center.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Rainers Hotel Vienna, following your recent stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the benefit of our Executive Rooms, as they include some services, ideal especially for business travellers.
In your comment you have mentioned our gym. It is availlable for all our guests from 07:00am to midnight, and althought it is limited in size we offer all the basic fitness equipement .

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irelands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just back from spending 3 nights in Rainers Hotel and very happy with the overall experience. After reading some of the reviews on here, I was a bit concerned about the location but I needn't have worried, the location and proximitely to the centre of Vienna, in my opinion, is fine. Its about a 3 minute walk to get the tram and a further 5/10 minutes on the tram to get to Karlsplatz, from where most of the sights are reachable.
The rooms in the hotel are very clean, confortable, modern and reasonably sized, with tea and coffee making facilities available.No free wifi available in the rooms which is a slight negative but wifi is available for free on 2 Mac machines in reception.
In summery, if its a 4 star hotel for a 2 star price you're lookng for, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room near an elevator, the corridors are very long in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to say thank you for staying with us here at Rainers Hotel Vienna, we would be more then happy to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Here at Rainers Hotel Vienna we want to offer a comfortable hotel with outstanding service to an affordable price. The feedback you have provided us with, shows us, that we are on the right path.

Although we are not situated in the centre of the city, it is just as you said only a short tram ride away.

So hopefully we will see you again in Vienna sometime soon!

Kind regards,

The Rainers Hotel Vienna Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have gone to a business trip and spent in this hotel for 3nights on 2nd March!.....very very clean hotel and all equipments for a business trip were available!.....hotel has renovated in 2009, thus all the things and rooms were spotless and brightening!...... rooms have very good size and all of the equipments for passengers' welfare were available in the room!....kettle for preparing tea or coffee,safe box, LCD TV and etc,.....in addition you can use free wireless internet in the room and enjoy it!....so so excellent!
just a negative point about hotel was fairly far from city centre and near a cemetry just opposite the hotel in the other side of street!.......meanwhile,absence of a pool in the hotel was obvious!......but hotel prepares a kingly breakfast for you every morning!.....all of staff were very intimate and helpful!....thanks a lot for all of their kindness and attempts....as a result I have a good evocative trip to vienna and hotel Rainers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for the positive feedback about your stay in March.

It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your business trip to Vienna and our services provided met your expectations.

As you mentioned, the hotel is not situated in Viennas city center but you can reach it by tram within
15 minutes from the hotel. Our team is more then happy to help with directions.

We would be glad to be able to welcoming you again to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Although the hotel is not in the inner city, the subway is just 5 minutes from the hotel and 15 minutes to arrive in the inner city. Very comfortable beds, clean, no cigaret smell. Bathroom was ok as well.
We included breakfast in the package and we had no regrets.
Support for dinner that was kind of weak (in the hotel and around), but there is a market close to the hotel.
In summary the hotel just make the experience better. I recommend the hotel and the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WernerMagedler, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Alexandre,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel.

I am glad to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Just as you said, although the Rainers Hotel is not situated right in the city center it is only a short tram ride to get to the main sights and attractions.

As to your feedback about dinner options in the surrounding area, we do offer local and international specialities for lunch and dinner in our restaurant. If you fancy a dinner outside the reception team is always more then happy to give recommondations.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we would be happy to welcoming you back to Vienna in the near future.

Kind regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent 4 days in Vienna, and this hotel gave good price for the period. It is clean and quiet, and you can get very quickly to the city centar and other transportations in the city. No walking routs around or near hotel, so it is more sleep over and get right to the city kind of stay. Clean, comfortable rooms. No smooking rooms, and strange rules for the smooking in the lounge/ cafe area - in peiod from 16h till 24h. Breakfast was way overpriced, it is cheaper and more interesting to have it in the numerous old viennes cafes around the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atviraigm, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to tell us about your stay.

On behalf of the entire team I appreciate the high ratings and pleasant comments. We are glad that you had a great experience with us.

Receive the kindest greeting from our team.

Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very clean and well designed rooms, quiet environment, smoking outside the hotel. Several shops for quick supplies next to the hotel.
Close to bus and U-train station, only 5minutes away by walking. Friendly staff. Computers available at reception. Very nice experience overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atviraigm, Manager at Rainers Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Rainers Hotel Vienna and for posting your review here on TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to see, that you had a convenient stay and that you had a very good experience while staying in our hotel.

We would appreciate to welcoming you back again soon

With kind regards from Vienna

Werner Magedler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainers Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainers Hotel Vienna

Address: Gudrunstrasse 184, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Vienna
#92 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#119 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainers Hotel Vienna 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Rainers Hotel Vienna is a trendy, modern business and city hotel. Located near the city centre of Vienna, it is the perfect base for discovering Vienna and its important sights. Combining history with modern elements, the hotel creates a unique atmosphere of well-being. For lovers of culture, city tourists and business travelers, the hotel offers a modern and stylish ambiance with dedicated employees who know the value of professional service. The variable room design of the seminar hotel's 640 m² events area provides an excellent setting for conferences, presentations, seminars and exclusive meetings. State-of-the-art technology, natural daylight and professional on-site support ensure a comfortable work environment for up to 350 people. The restaurant, with terrace dining in the summer, and the individually adaptable banquet rooms can also be made available for festivities and celebrations. Discover the magic of our creative, light and vitamin-rich cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rainers Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Rainers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainers Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.