We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December 2012.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Salzamt

Restaurant Salzamt
Ruprechtsplatz 1, Vienna, Austria (Inner City)
01 5335332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 3,012 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Austrian, Bistro, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: You can find the Salzamt in the heart of the ‚Bermuda Triangle‘. It has been said that the Salzamt was the starting point of the Viennese Nightlife area (Bermuda Dreieck). The architect Herman Czech created this elegant and functional but playful space in 1983. White table cloths stretch throughout the dining area surrounded by wooden benches and Art –Deco chandeliers. The bar tempts with dimed lights and leather sofas to lounge in, creating a feeling of timelessness. On the daily handwritten menu one can find bistrot classics such as Vitello Tonnato or Beef Tatare but Viennese specialities like veal 'Wiener Schnitzel', Tafelspitz, diverse Gulash’s as well international and eastern European dishes.There is a wide variety of Austrian and international wines with focus on the Bründlmayer in Kamptal. The beer selection features Viennese pils, Czech beer and white beer. Further fruit juices, fine spirits and local schnaps can be found on the drinks menu.In summer you can enjoy the outside seating on the calm and charming Ruprechtsplatz next to the oldest church in Vienna overlooking the Danube canal. Until 1824 the Salzamt was located here. The salt office was the salt taxing authority of the Habsburg monarchy. Today Salzamt is known as a meeting point for the arts and media scene and other luminaries, who enjoy this unpretentious place. If you want to dine and drink in an 'angenehm' atmosphere the Salzamt will take care of you.
Vrbas, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“December 2012.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've had a couple of meals in December of 2012. at Restaurant Salzamt and each time I was very pleased by the taste and the service. Meals are quite extensive, really tasty and reasonably priced. The atmosphere is pleasant both in the restaurant and the bar area. I can especially mention the friendliness of the staff and their effort to give the top quality service. It's generally a comfortable place with excellent cuisine worth of visiting again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    81
    26
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, null, Serbia
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great food, great staff, the ambient is very nice, all in all a great experience! I will most definitely visit again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have been there at our last night. It was brilliant. Great food, great wine and very helpfull nice staff. Absolutelly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I went to the Salzamt in March 2013 to have a meal with a group of friends. It had a great atmosphere; from the friendly service to the handwritten menu containing a small but interesting list of dishes. The food was excellent! I will go back to the Salzamt when next in Vienna.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great food, great service. good value for money. One of the best places I have gone to in vienna. There was a good selection of dishes, which tasted great. The waiters were good fun and friendly. Was there with my friends and we felt real welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Salzamt also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Restaurant Salzamt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Salzamt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.