We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with a great breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trabrennstrasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #82 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with a great breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe is a hotel located near the conference centre, so it is usually booked for business travellers.

Rooms are the signature Marriott style with comfortable bed, sofa area, big wardrobe. Location is not very central, but Krieau (U2) U-bahn station is just 3 mins walk away, and one can usually get to different parts of Vienna within 20-30 mins as Vienna is pretty compact and well-serviced by the U-bahns.

As I go to Vienna for work often, this is my favourite business hotel especially because of the excellent and good-quality breakfast buffet spread. Recommended, but more suited for business travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    217
    47
    8
    8
See reviews for
54
144
50
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As the title says, this hotel gives you what you would expect. Rooms are clean and roomy. WiFi in room is moderately priced at €6 (US$8) for 24 hours. There is a good bar with a range of fine beers (try the Edlweiss). The breakfast buffet offers a great range to suit most tastes - at €19 (US$24) it's a little pricey but worth the price.

The staff were all very attentive and friendly and helpful. The receptionist recommended a great steak restaurant called Steak Point.

One huge advantage is that the hotel is non-smoking. However, there is an outside eating and seating area where people of both tastes can be catered for.

Negatives? Well, bath towels are on the smallish side. Checkout, at noon-time took longer than I thought it should (only one person on desk).

Vienna seems a small city and so getting to this hotel seems like driving through residential suburbs (which it is) but you get a sense of the niceness of the place.

A good hotel, which would be ideal if visiting the Messe (congress hall) or OMV, the oil company.

Room Tip: Didn't hear a complaint from anyone in our party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Close to the Convention Center of Messe, just from a walk distance from the subway station near the Prater neighborhood, this modern stylish cozy hotel is perfect to go downtown (Hofburg, Stephanplatz and opera house), Schloss Schönbrunn, Belvedere, Sigmund Freud's house etc. The rate was reasonable, the staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Certainly, after a wonderful breakfast in the hotel's bar restaurant you can go to main tourists attractions by yourself. Forget Danube River and get lost in ancient small streets to find great typical restaurants. Everything was perfect for my stay in Viena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The last leg of of our Europe trip, we decided to splurge and stay at a good hotel, and this was a great hotel, although its located pretty far from Inner Stadt and city center. But the Metro is just 10 mins walk from the hotel and it brings you to city center in minutes. The trains are moderately fast, clean and has free magazines for you to browse through.

We reached the hotel quite late, from the Vienna Airport we were told that there are infrequent trains at night (later we realized this is just airport taxi gimmick to gullible tourists to pay more, on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays the trains in all over Vienna operate all night, THROUGHOUT the night, YES!) If you don't believe me ask your hotel

Anyhow the taxi cost us 35 euros. We had booked the hotel in advance and we got a nice room on a high floor with not much of a view (since this hotel is in a business area, our room faced the office opposite us) However within walking distance there is a McDonalds but its best you take the Metro to downtown for food and drinks

From the Flughafen Wein airport, you take the S7 (blue) metro and get down at Praterstein. From there, take the U2 line (purple) heading towards Aspenstr and get down at Krieau station. The hotel is 10 mins walk from the train station

To get to city center from the Krieau station, take the U2 heading towards Karlplatz and get down at Praterstein. From there, get the U1 in the direction of Reumannpl. and get down at Stephanplatz. where St Stephan's cathredal is. You can get down here or take the U3, in the directions towards Ottakring that will bring you to the main tourists attractions (Volkstheather stations for Musuem Quartier, Natural History Museum, Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Parliament)

Now I know some of you will be wondering why not take the high-speed train (CAT) from the airport to city center? Simply because it's overpriced, it has more stops than the Metro and for less the cost and time you can reach the hotel anyways. Also bear in mind that the CAT stops at Lanstrabe/Wien Mitte so from there you HAVE to take the S7, get down at Praterstein, change to to U2 to get to Krieau. See what I meant?

If you have time, you can walk from the hotel to the Danube and New Danube rivers, its right behind it.

The hotel had:

2 face towels (they didn't replace with new ones the next day)
2 hand towels
2 bath towels
1 doormat
hair dryer
basin
shower + toilet
one reading chair
one office chair
writing pad + pen
room service menu
phone
2+1 pillows
miniature shower, conditioner, hair shampoo and facial soap

Breakfast was especially good, they had slightly different buffet food for both days and they had extensive selection of teabags, cheeses and dry fruits for breakfast

On every floor, they have water and ice dispenser but on our floor, the machine only dispensed ice so I filled up bucketful of it with ice

I know someone mentioned about her laptop being stolen and I suspect its probably the guests because I had my eyes on all the servers and from where we sat for breakfast our luggage was within eyesight. I got to admit that we were extra cautious during our Europe trip and never travelled anywhere with our passports. We used our photo ID for all checks (in SBBs, TrenItalia, Thalys) and kept money locked in the safe box if available in hotel room

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very quaint hotel located in a very convenient area. It is near the major tourist and business attractions. There are several nice restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The rate was a reasonably good value for the season and location.The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have to give 3 stars since my colleagues lost their bags during breakfast at the cafe! And another colleague lost their laptop inside the room! Unbelievable.

We stayed at Courtyard by Mariott Vienna Messe for company outing back in May 2013. We were 150+ person and booked so many rooms (do the math) at this hotel.

It looked like a brand new hotel, with chic and trendy design. And boy, how I love the room! Veeeerrrrry spacious (considering another hotels in Europe with tiny tiny rooms), absolutely comfortable bed, with clean and bright bathroom. Hot and long bubble bath after a whole day sightseeing? Bliss!

The wifi is available for free at the lobby, but you have to pay 6Euro (if I'm not mistaken) for 24 hours wifi inside the room -- which I did and the connection was good.

The location was a bit far from the city central.. but the Metro station is just about 3 minutes walk and the surrounding area is very clean and nice.. office buildings.

Overall it's a very nice hotel, with plenty of choices for breakfast..

Until.. my colleagues come to the cafe, put their bags on the table, got themselves some food and when they went back to the table.. their bags were GONE. And another colleague came down to report his laptop was missing from inside the room. The police showed up within minutes and helped my colleagues.. but still it's totally unacceptable. The security for the hotel is definitely questionable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Marriot Courtyard is a very good hotel for those on short visits to Vienna. It has all the essentials for the business traveller. Close to the metro station, in a nice clean area and the food and beverage service is excellent. I found the bedroom to be very comfortable and enjoyed staying there. I would also return if I am there on business again in future.

Room Tip: View their website and view all the room types and select accordingly:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe

Address: Trabrennstrasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Vienna
#58 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#70 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Vienna's lively center stands the Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe as part of the business quarter "Viertel 2", set by the Vienna fairgrounds, the university of economics and convention center Reed Exhibition Messe Wien as well as the green Prater and the Ernst Happel stadium. The city center can be reached within 10 minutes as the hotel offers direct access to the underground U2. All major highways and the airport are within immediate reach away by car. All guest rooms offer individual air condition,comfortable Courtyard beds, laptop safe, W-LAN, flat screen with satellite TV, coffee & tea making facilities, refrigerator, iron and ironing board,and hair dryer. On the 8th floor we provide on 430 m2 of fitness and wellness overlooking Vienna. Work-out in our cardio and strength training area with professional support and then relax in our panorama sauna, steam bath, solarium and relaxation room. At our restaurant, allow us to make you feel comfortable by experiencing the traditional flair of Viennese hospitality together with our modern and contemporary interpretation of culinary art. Experience real treat by tasting local products combined with fresh herbs, luscious and crisp vegetables and a drink of fantastic, high quality Austrian wine. Fresh seasonal specialties, popular Viennese classics or American delicacies of an international hotel cuisine? It' s up to you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Vienna Messe Hotel Vienna
Vienna Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.