We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices and perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kantine

Kantine
Museusquartier, Vienna 1070, Austria (Innere Stadt)
+43 1 5238239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #655 of 2,858 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good prices and perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The restaurant had a perfect location in the Museum quarters (just opposite the big grey museum building). The price was nice, we had a soup for 3,4 eur which was just perfect as a lunch. The clients in the restaurant seemed to be locals and the atmosphere was delightful with nice waiters and music.
We would most certainly visit this place again when we go back to Vienna..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    41
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love Kantine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Kantine is a great place to hang out and enjoy a couple of drinks and some food. The prices are very very good the food is basic but good and their drinks are very well prices as well.

As of 11PM their cocktails are on happy hour prices which if I remember correctly is 5 Euros. And they are seriously strong. In summer they have a big outdoor space but it becomes really packed in the evenings. Indoors its really chilled out. They bring a DJ in at abotu 10PM to play some good music.

The toilets a re disguting but can be overlooked for the general greatness of this place. What was nice the last time I went was to see the indoors area is now a smoke free zone. The not so great part was that a table started smoking and the waiters didn't say anything. We asked them to put out their smokes but they got offended and the entire table lit up... only in Austria! Anyway the waiters could have been more assertive but the point remains the place is great and you should go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Big special dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We went here for dining and we are very positivley impressed by the big plates, the friendly waiters, the music and the atmosphere. Big positive note for the beer

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I regularly go to Kantine with friends either to have a couple of drinks or to catch a bite to eat. The food is tasty and prices are reasonable. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and they make the most delicious cocktails, which from 11pm are only €5, so it is definitely worth a visit. The ambience is relaxed but it's always busy and often hard to get a table. I have returned several times and I would again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“We have returned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I for back to check the hamburguer and were NOT disappointed. Cute waiters on the evening is a plus. Again, reasonable pricing made us return and enjoy rhe music and ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kantine also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Kantine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.