We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, Good service - but please ban smoking!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kleines Cafe

Kleines Cafe
Franziskanerplatz 3, Vienna 1010 Wien, Austria (Innere Stadt)
Improve this listing
Ranked #775 of 2,531 restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Café
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Nice food, Good service - but please ban smoking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We started they day with breakfast in Kleines Cafe. A bit hidden in a small square, we find this very nice cafe. We ordered breakfast - it came very fresh and tasteful, and the Caffe Latte was heavenly. The atmosphere is good, and the service friendly and quick.

There is one, major drawback; in this tiny cafe, even one person smoking is ruining the experience. We would love to come back, and then I hope smoking is banned!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    16
    17
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Nice cafe for a small bite, but please ban smoking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We started they day with breakfast in Kleines Cafe. A bit hidden in a small square, we find this very nice cafe. We ordered breakfast - it came very fresh and tasteful, and the Caffe Latte was heavenly. The atmosphere is good, and the service friendly and quick.

There is one, major drawback; in this tiny cafe, even one person smoking is ruining the experience. We would love to come back, and then I hope smoking is banned!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wenn in Wien...you simply must try this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nothing beats a midnight Camembert toast & a glass of Aperol spritz accompanied by a heartfelt conversation - and there's no other place better for this combination!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“My favorite corner on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I love this cafe. It's comfortable, has good food, excellent coffee and a great feel. There's no rush and it's the kind of place where you can finally read a newspaper front to back (excellent selection of local and global newspapers, btw). It's hidden away from most of the tourism noise on a beautiful piazza next to the franciscan church. For breakfast or as a snack you can try their breads with home made spreads. They also have small snacks like sausages and bread or salads; all very tasty. They have excellent tea and all their coffees are properly prepared. The prices are reasonable (you are in the central district none-the-less :-) and the service cordial. Whenever I come to Vienna it's the one place I must go to no matter what. It spells comfort and relaxes my senses. Try to come during non-peak hours to find seating inside (for winter) or outside (for summer).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for a lunch a warm summer day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

A very small place, but perfect for a light lunch with a beer or a glass of wine on a warm sunny day. Make sure you get, or wait for, an outdoor table. I had some Frankfurter and a cold beer, so great since the weather was perfect.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kleines Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kleines Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kleines Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.