We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, marred by extremely poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hidori

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hidori
Burggasse 89, Vienna 1070, Austria (Neubau)
15233900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #752 of 2,878 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Neubau
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food, marred by extremely poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Recommended by TimeOut and other august publications, we thought to give this place a try. First impressions were good: a cosy room, tables well spaced out, soft lighting and atmosphere. Orders were taken quickly and Japanese beer appeared fast.

However, we then waited 40 minutes for our starters, and then ANOTHER HOUR for our main courses, which were also on the small side. The restaurant was by no means full, but the kitchen (I think manned by just one chef) was obviously struggling. It took ages to get the bill - eventually I had to get up and go to the counter - and one could hardly see the kitchen for all the dirty plates piled high up on the counter.

There are obviously some serious staff issues here at the moment. If you're prepared to wait, the food is fine, but there are at least 3 other better Japanese restaurants in Vienna.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Balzan, Malta
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Go there for the Yakitori”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I dined here a few days ago. I opted to sit and next to the food preparation station in order to see the chefs at work. I have to admit that unlike some other reviews the Chef was very polite and also explained a few things. The fact that it was a slow night must have helped. I chose a number of different dishes. The sushi selection (5 pieces) was ok although the squid was very tough. The crispy octopus was very good and spicy. The Rice ball was delicious, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. However the pick of the lot were the yakitori of which I chose a mixed selection. My favourite were the pork and welsh onion and the beef liver. Food is priced quite well although I have eaten similar food at cheaper prices.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A little pricy but totally authentic and tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This restaurant serves what you would expect to see in Japan. The quality is good, and they serve also food that is less known to foreigners but is as authentic as possible. It's true the service is not the fastest, but what they cook is not fast food stuff and they take the time required. I felt it was a bit pricey, but this is mostly because I like cooking and I can cook these things on my own. It's still very good for a treat and I recommend it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shame for the terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great shame for the terrible service in particular by the chef himself. Other than that the warm dishes were nice, the sushi instead disappointing. In any case when the chef is so unpolite and treats you with arrogance, it does spoil the whole dinner. Also not smart from them, as there are many other nice Japanese places even in the neighborhood that a client can choose from.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Famous for their Yakitori”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This restaurant has, in my opinion, the best Yakitori you can find in Vienna. It is a bit on the pricy side but hey, you don't have to eat there every day.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidori also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Hidori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.