We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Pension Baronesse to your Saves list
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria (Alservorstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastically helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had just two night in Vienna but in that time the knowledge & helfulness of the staff of the Baronesse - particularly Ina - eased our way into the city.

Quirky little place, great donnas! And wonderful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
52
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I, a mature couple, stayed at this hotel for four days to take in Vienna on our way to BadGastein. Had booked over booking.com after reading reviews.Rooms are cosy and clean with comfortable beds,unless they give you one like an attic converted.We refused the same and got a good double bedded one.The location makes walking to the public transport,bus and metro easy.Breakfast ,included in room rent,had juices fresh fruit, cereals yoghurt,variety of breads,meats and eggs to order,with a variety of teas,coffee.The staff were limited but helpful Provided us an electric kettle on demand.TV was limited.The lift is a throwback to the fifties which gives a classic feel to the place.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the street side.Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in a single modern room on the first floor for 2 nights, and couldn't have asked for a better hotel for the price I paid. It is great value for how close it is to the city centre, easy tram access or a 5-10 minute walk. The staff are extremely happy to help, they booked concert tickets, hop-on-hop-off tickets and taxis for me and even helped me to check in for my flight online and print my boarding pass! Room was spacious, modern and clean, bed was extremely comfy, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very good value for its central location and proximity to the very regular and easy to use trams.
Staff very friendly, pleasant and helpful.
Rooms quirky, but in a good way. Very large and clean. Has an empty fridge for you to stock yourself, which I thought was a good idea. Just one english/american TV channel CNN.
Plenty of local shops and and the odd pastry shop.
4 Star is probably stretching it as regards the hotel itself but the staff and location bring the overall experience up to a 4 star for me.
Did not eat at the hotel €12pp for breakfast.

Room Tip: Saw a man complaining about noise but we didn't hear a peep (room 227). You can buy your day/48...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We, two family, stayed in this hotel 7.03.13-10.03.13. The location is very convenient:4 tram lines are near to the hotel. There are several small shops and restaurants not far from the hotel. We recomend to visit the pab in the campus (walk 5-10 min) - not high price and good quality dishes and beer. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful, english (sometimes russian) receptionist always ready to help you. Breakfast is very good and full, include fresh juice, champaign, several kinds of tea, ....
We recommend this hotel for tourist trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed four nights with my girlfriend at Pension Baronesse. The location in the 8th district is very convenient: close to small shops and restaurants, and only two tram stops from Schottentor and the subway. No less than 4 tram lines stop close to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern, clean and large enough. We had a quiet room facing a back yard. Free internet is included and works very well. The only downside is the high price for breakfast (12 EUR), so we didn't use that option and had breakfast in a cafe for half of that. Otherwise, the rate is good value by Vienna standards. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We wanted a low cost comfortable hotel not too far from the centre of Vienna and Pension Baronesse was perfect. The room was very homely and furnished in a traditional style and the bed really comfy.
The shower and bathroom clean and functional and very peaceful room to ensure a good night's sleep after a busy day sightseeing.
We visited in January and the room temperature just right. Once we got our bearings, found the location ideal - about 15 - 20 minutes walk to the centre.
Reception staff very helpful and friendly at all times day and night - and the lift was amazing.
Not being a morning person - I missed out on breakfast but my other half took breakfast on both mornings and said it was really good value. (He likes a good breakfast!)
Can't think of anything negative - for the price it was very good value and a great introduction to my first trip to Vienna. A cosy and friendly place to return to after seeing the sights!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Pension Baronesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Address: Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Baronesse 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a conference, a business trip, a sightseeing tour or you are looking for the one special place to withdraw from the hubbub of a cosmopolitan city. Enjoy the relaxation of an elegant atmosphere full of Vienna charm together with discreet and individual comfort. Baronesse is where guests feel at home. Aviano and Baronesse are a symbiosis of Vienna tradition and spirit of the times. Our 4-star pension which has been managed as a family business for decades has long been established as a stylish secret tip in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Pension Baronesse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronesse My Secret Home Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Pension Baronesse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.