We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time there...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Pension Baronesse to your Saves list
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria (Alservorstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Varna, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful time there...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you are visiting Vienna just to stay in your room maybe this hotel is not the right choice. But if you want to visit all palaces, museums, churches, exhibitions you ever read about, PENSION BARONESSE is your place – 15-20 minutes’ walk distance from the Opera House – the heart of Vienna. The beds are comfortable, the pillows soft, you will have rich breakfast and excellent coffee. We had room 29 – quiet and comfortable.
There is no restaurant for diner but Ina from the reception was very nice and gave us very good advice and directions for restaurants in the neighborhood. We preferred FROMME HELENE and had three times excellent diner there. You need a reservation for this place.
We visited Vienna in late October – wonderful time to be there, every tree has different colors and you can see the full beauty of all parks and palaces!
We took three tours – City tour, Salzburg tour and Danube tour. For the first two they came and took us from the hotel and our return was organized. We had very good time and were happy to see all those wonderful places.
The very last moment just before leaving for the airport we realized that we could take all those tours from the reception instead of going by the Opera. You can have tickets for all city transport at the reception desk too.
We were very glad to be guest of PENSION BARONESSE. Next time in Vienna - we will be there too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
52
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a welcoming small hotel just blocks from many of Vienna's museums and their famous Christmas market. The hotel is full of character, offers a nice hot punch at the reception and friendly service. I am enjoying my stay since this location is convenient and my room is dead quiet at night; perfect for sleeping. There are lots of good eateries in the area and so far, no complaints at all. A good place to stay without blowing your budget.

Room Tip: Room 224 is super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hi we had a 4 night stay in Baronesse My Secret Home and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel,excellent central location to go visit Vienna and surrounding areas as the public transport system is on the doorstep,lots of restaurants and pastry/cake shops serving a great choice of teas/coffee at reasonable prices.The hotel was very clean,room was lovely only thing was there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.The bathroom was adequate with a lovely high prssure shower and no end of shower gel/shampoo supplied.The staff were lovely.mannerly,friendly and very helpful,but there is no wheelchair access ramp which we needed as our daughter has to use a wheelchair. Would I stay here again? Yes,definitely! There was free WiFi available,I didnt avail of it.I saw some of the reviews saying it was noisy,we had a street room and apart from the trundling of the trams did not find it noisy. We thoroughly recommend you go to Bennos Bar and Restaurant as the selection of food,desserts and beer are brilliant and the staff are genuinely mannerly to talk to when ordering its a 15 minute walk away just ask in the hotel how to get there and just to point out our son lives in Vienna and he brought us to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Baronesse for two days at the end of November to check out the Christmas Markets in Vienna. This particular hotel was within a 10 minute walking distance to the main Christmas Market at the Rathuas (New City Hall).

The hotel itself is decent. The lobby is small and dated, but all the front desk staff were great to deal with. They were always very helpful from giving directions to: Market, Pharmacy, pick-up point for the Hop-on Hop-off bus, to helping book railway tickets for my trip to Budapest. They are some of the friendliest and most helpful front desk staff I have encountered as of late.

I stayed in Room #2, a single room on the first floor. The room was well decorated in the modern style. The only real comment about the room was that it was very small...but that did not keep me from enjoying it.

I ate breakfast my last morning there, and I was presently surprised with it. I had read some negative comments about it. While it is no smorgasbord, it has a wide selection of food choices. The only eggs they had out were boiled eggs, but a french couple came in after me and asked if the staff could fix them some scrambled eggs, and they did with out any fuss. Yes, 12 euros is pricey for breakfast, but if you would like the convenience of eating in the hotel then this is an option.

If I could rate this hotel with more than just solid stars I would give it a firm 3.5 stars. Good location, friendly staff, and nice, but small room. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good price but all bedrooms don't look like the pictures on the wbesite.
Our room was less qualitative and it was noisy because we were on the street.
Breakfast not included, it is 12€.

Nevertheless, those are the positive points:
> lot coffee bars, restaurants around the hotel
> 15 min max from the city center
> near line 43 of the tram
> 8 minutes walking from a subway station (Alser Strasse , line U6 and Schottentor line U2)
>nice staff: they have a luggage room so you can let your luggages there to go and visit Vienna.

Room Tip: Avoir the rooms that are on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was easy to find from the airport and in a good location. The free wifi in the room was a great bonus. My room was at the rear of the hotel and there was no noise. Although the breakfast was excellent, I thought it was rather expensive at 12 Euro.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here---clean, good location, all the amenities we needed. The price was fair and included free in-room internet connection. There was plenty of room for the three of us (parents plus adult child). We really enjoyed the staff; there were all friendly, helpful and personable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Pension Baronesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Address: Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Baronesse 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a conference, a business trip, a sightseeing tour or you are looking for the one special place to withdraw from the hubbub of a cosmopolitan city. Enjoy the relaxation of an elegant atmosphere full of Vienna charm together with discreet and individual comfort. Baronesse is where guests feel at home. Aviano and Baronesse are a symbiosis of Vienna tradition and spirit of the times. Our 4-star pension which has been managed as a family business for decades has long been established as a stylish secret tip in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Pension Baronesse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronesse My Secret Home Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Pension Baronesse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.