We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Pension near the University & Rathaus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Pension Baronesse to your Saves list
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria (Alservorstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent Pension near the University & Rathaus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Baronesse for two days at the end of November to check out the Christmas Markets in Vienna. This particular hotel was within a 10 minute walking distance to the main Christmas Market at the Rathuas (New City Hall).

The hotel itself is decent. The lobby is small and dated, but all the front desk staff were great to deal with. They were always very helpful from giving directions to: Market, Pharmacy, pick-up point for the Hop-on Hop-off bus, to helping book railway tickets for my trip to Budapest. They are some of the friendliest and most helpful front desk staff I have encountered as of late.

I stayed in Room #2, a single room on the first floor. The room was well decorated in the modern style. The only real comment about the room was that it was very small...but that did not keep me from enjoying it.

I ate breakfast my last morning there, and I was presently surprised with it. I had read some negative comments about it. While it is no smorgasbord, it has a wide selection of food choices. The only eggs they had out were boiled eggs, but a french couple came in after me and asked if the staff could fix them some scrambled eggs, and they did with out any fuss. Yes, 12 euros is pricey for breakfast, but if you would like the convenience of eating in the hotel then this is an option.

If I could rate this hotel with more than just solid stars I would give it a firm 3.5 stars. Good location, friendly staff, and nice, but small room. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
52
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good price but all bedrooms don't look like the pictures on the wbesite.
Our room was less qualitative and it was noisy because we were on the street.
Breakfast not included, it is 12€.

Nevertheless, those are the positive points:
> lot coffee bars, restaurants around the hotel
> 15 min max from the city center
> near line 43 of the tram
> 8 minutes walking from a subway station (Alser Strasse , line U6 and Schottentor line U2)
>nice staff: they have a luggage room so you can let your luggages there to go and visit Vienna.

Room Tip: Avoir the rooms that are on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was easy to find from the airport and in a good location. The free wifi in the room was a great bonus. My room was at the rear of the hotel and there was no noise. Although the breakfast was excellent, I thought it was rather expensive at 12 Euro.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here---clean, good location, all the amenities we needed. The price was fair and included free in-room internet connection. There was plenty of room for the three of us (parents plus adult child). We really enjoyed the staff; there were all friendly, helpful and personable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park ridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location was great! As is the case with most hotels easpecially the older ones in Vienna - no air conditioning. We were there for 2 night the end of July - no air conditioning and it was close to 100 degrees! Yes we are spoiled AMericans - so we were less than comfortable. We had a room that faced the street - opening the windowns meant we couln't sleep because of the noisy tram that ran until midnight just outside our window.

Room was clean but small- we had three people so we required a double bed plus a cot- very little room to move...

Room Tip: upper floor away froom street if you want to get a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

If I had one word to describe this hotel it would be cheesy. The decoration is cheap and very old. Everything is very worn. The wall paper is peeling. The towels are ragged. They have no toiletries available for guests, just a large bottle of cheap soap attached to the wall like a public bathroom. There is no AC. The tv is small and not a flat screen. There is no safe. The hair dryer is burned through the plastic. The matresses were thin and uncomfortable. We chose this hotel based on the reviewers here but I'm not sure what kind of room they stayed at. I uploaded some pictures of the place. The hotel has a lot of potential unfortunately management cuts corners wherever possible. On the plus its a great location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver,bc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were given room 109 and it faced the front street. I got the giggles because it was so noisy and intrusive. There was no air conditioning so the window was open for air (Sept.). DO NOT stay here unless they guarantee that you are not on the front street and be prepared for a tacky room (lots of pink and crystals) where the drapes are so narrow and light they do not cover the window and block the light. I found a pair of pants from a former guest under the bed so that tells you how clean the place was. The car park is two blocks away (16 Euro a night).
The breakfast was great and the desk staff, particularly Denise, were very helpful. We took the tram to Schonbrunn from the corner and a different tram to the ring from the same corner. Denise gave us coloured computer generated instructions to major sights using the public transportation and these were very useful.

Room Tip: Be clear you do not want a room on Lange Gasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Pension Baronesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Address: Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Baronesse 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a conference, a business trip, a sightseeing tour or you are looking for the one special place to withdraw from the hubbub of a cosmopolitan city. Enjoy the relaxation of an elegant atmosphere full of Vienna charm together with discreet and individual comfort. Baronesse is where guests feel at home. Aviano and Baronesse are a symbiosis of Vienna tradition and spirit of the times. Our 4-star pension which has been managed as a family business for decades has long been established as a stylish secret tip in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Pension Baronesse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronesse My Secret Home Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Pension Baronesse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.