We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tram is very noisy until 12:00!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Save Saved
You added Hotel-Pension Baronesse to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria (Alservorstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 369 hotels in Vienna
vancouver,bc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The tram is very noisy until 12:00!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were given room 109 and it faced the front street. I got the giggles because it was so noisy and intrusive. There was no air conditioning so the window was open for air (Sept.). DO NOT stay here unless they guarantee that you are not on the front street and be prepared for a tacky room (lots of pink and crystals) where the drapes are so narrow and light they do not cover the window and block the light. I found a pair of pants from a former guest under the bed so that tells you how clean the place was. The car park is two blocks away (16 Euro a night).
The breakfast was great and the desk staff, particularly Denise, were very helpful. We took the tram to Schonbrunn from the corner and a different tram to the ring from the same corner. Denise gave us coloured computer generated instructions to major sights using the public transportation and these were very useful.

Room Tip: Be clear you do not want a room on Lange Gasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    53
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
50
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, TX
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We chose this pension in Vienna because it offered a very good price with breakfast in the city, and it was close to a tram spot. We were very pleased with everything!

Our tram stop (Lange Grasse) was 1/2 block from the Pension. At this particular stop, you may choose two routes. The trams are fast and easy to use. We even used them to get back to the train station...with luggage!

PROS: comfortable, large room with huge windows and old-world charm. Double doors and double windows helped us sleep well. A well-laid breakfast with an excellent coffee machine (6 choices!). Pleasant welcoming staff who remembered us and offered good directions and tips. The charm of staying in a 1902 building that has been modernized but retains all its beautiful charm.

CONS: Vienna is a busy city. Expect noise. But we slept well each night!

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: I'm sure any request would be met with their best effort to assist you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This pension is near the tram stop that brings you to inner ring and the subway. The room is big and clean. We were place in a modern room without carpet overlooking Langegasse (113) it was a little bit noisy because of the tram and the bar next the pension but we slept well. The breakfast was excellent and one of the best of our trip from Berlin to Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel does not have many facilities, however anything that it is offering is pretty good. There is only breakfast served and if you wish to have a coffee or any beverage or snack at a later point you would have to go somewhere outdoors and get it. There are a few supermarkets and coffee shops nearby that solve this issue though. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spacey and clean. I stayed in a double classic room and I really liked the ivory furniture and decoration. If you don't require much of a room service or the facilities and spaces of a grand hotel, then this one would make your stay more than pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this wonderful "pension" in August, 2012.
We stayed in a traditionally furnished room overlooking Langegasse (which was NOT too noisy for us).
The property is a charming slice of "old Vienna", complete with central, lift (elevator), surrounded by a winding metal staircase.
Our room was larger than I'd expected (for a European hotel).
The hotel was very clean.
Breakfast buffet was MORE than adequate,
but the real winners here were the front desk staff, who were MOST knowledgable, courteous, friendly, and helpful, no matter what we requested.
A great place to stay in Vienna (The ""Ring" is two stops away on the 42 and 43 trams from the next corner. The #5 tram stops right by the hotel-- direct from WestBahnhof on one end and the Prater at the other).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Prior to our trip I searched Tripadvisor to find a suitable hotel and fell for the wonderful writing about this establishment. However, I dont believe anyone stayed in room 107. It was so stuffy and warm like an oven even though windows were wide open. If you expect to find a four star "hotel standard" you will be greatly disapointed as the hotel is very dated and in need of a pick me up. The cleaning is good.
The breakfast is unfortunately not much to talk about if one is used to the Austrain ones in general. The staff also talked loudly in their native language complaining about things without realising that someone might understand. Also the breakfast staff need to be wary of that at 6-7am it is not ok to talk loudly or yell with open windows towards the courtyard as it will echo loudly throughout.
Staff were friendly and helpful. We found that if you want to be close to the pulse of the city then this place is on the wrong side. Though we found the greatest Italian restaurant 5 min away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very good accommodation.
The hotel is very nice .
Rooms are well maintained , the breakfast is very rIch and different day to day.
The hotel position is close to tram/bus stop and it's very easy to reach any location of the city .
The personnel we met
is very professional , kind, competent and really focused to customers satisfaction.
We have been staying for 1 week and we suggest this hotel as good choice for a pleasant
holiday in Vienna .

Friends from Monza (Italy)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Pension Baronesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Baronesse

Address: Lange Gasse 61, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Pension Baronesse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a conference, a business trip, a sightseeing tour or you are looking for the one special place to withdraw from the hubbub of a cosmopolitan city. Enjoy the relaxation of an elegant atmosphere full of Vienna charm together with discreet and individual comfort. Baronesse is where guests feel at home. Aviano and Baronesse are a symbiosis of Vienna tradition and spirit of the times. Our 4-star pension which has been managed as a family business for decades has long been established as a stylish secret tip in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel-Pension Baronesse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronesse My Secret Home Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Pension Baronesse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;