We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for sachertorte and apfelstrudel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanoni & Zanoni

Zanoni & Zanoni
Lugeck 7, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
01/512 79 79
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 2,531 restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Bakery, Ice Cream, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Innere Stadt
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Looking for sachertorte and apfelstrudel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Casual place for gelato or other sweets, teas, coffees. Italian-ish, but they serve some Austrian desserts as well. Sachertorte torte was dry, but the apfelstrudel, served warm, was really good, even if it may not have been made with fresh apples ( it was hard to tell, but I'd guess fresh). Sachertorte is served with unsweetened whipped cream on the side that's sprinkled w/ cocoa powder. Coffee was good, not a large cup, however. Fast, fast service, WC downstairs where a tip is expected. Pay on the way out. Outdoor, covered seating w/ heaters. Great place to go after you've climbed the stairs (340+) of the St. Stephens Cathedral bell tower that is nearby. The church itself is beautiful, the catacombs interesting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    133
    114
    43
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the best eis by a long shot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We've been living in Vienna for 2 months and have tried as many eis shops as we can. We love the gelato. Of the many we have tried all were good enough to enjoy. Zanoni is 2nd from the bottom of our list though. It seems like people go there because of it's location near Stephansdome, and because it is recommended by some famous guide-books. Other gelato places in Vienna have richer flavors, better prices, and better texture. Zanoni is ok, but there are better places within 2 blocks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile




Have great ice cream noting else.Also, ice cream one the street's corner also great.
Enjoy:)
In general, Vienna's ice cream is the best

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, nothing too special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have to say I had high hopes for this Ice cream place after reading previous reviews and left with mixed feelings. Must say very reasonably priced ice cream and a variety of flavours. The taste is certainly better than the ice cream you buy in supermarkets and the like but not quite up there compared with other italian ice cream parlours (e.g oddonos in uk and italy, and italian gelaterias)

Nevertherless worth a try. Staff were very nice to us when we went there and I would visit again next time in Vienna.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quick food and awesome gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed close to Zanoni & Zanoni for a few days in August. Our hotel had a fairly pricey buffet breakfast so we decided to eat here a few times instead. The restaurant has a massive outdoor eating area with many small tables. This allowed for people to come and go constantly, which made for some excellent people watching over coffee. The breakfasts were quite large and very, very tasty. The coffee, as expected in Vienna, was excellent. The service was extremely friendly and always quick to help out.

We also came back to Zanoni & Zanoni to try their gelato after some excellent walks around town. It was definitely worth it. There was a massive selection, something for everyone. If you are near St Stephen's Cathedral it is a must for a quick bite, a big meal or even just a coffee.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanoni & Zanoni also viewed

Vienna, Austria
Vienna, Austria
 

Been to Zanoni & Zanoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanoni & Zanoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.