We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension a und a

Save Saved
You added Pension a und a to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension a und a
Habsburgergasse 3 Floor M, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 101 Vienna B&B and Inns
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the pension a und a for two nights. The pension is hidden in an old building in Habsburgerstrasse. You go up in an old elevator to Floor M and there it is. The service is excellent and the receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in the private suite which was bigger than some apartments. We had our breakfast in our apartment. The pension is close to all the shops like Louis Vuitton, Dolce and Gabana etc. There are ample restaurants to choose from in the area, but we enjoyed Ilona Stuberl in Braunerstrasse 2.
i would recommend this pension anytime to young and old. It was really the best place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want to splash some cash, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
21
42
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very helpful staff who went out of their way to accomodate our late arrival (arrange private pick-up which is €34 rather than the c. €41 flat charged if you get a taxi at the curb). We stayed in the apartment (Private suite) which is very large, and nicely fitted out, all seems brand new. Large kitchen & 6 seater dining room table. Equipped with microwave & Nespresso coffee maker. Huge flat screen TVs in bedroom and lounge. Friend slept on comfy pull-out couch which was nicely prepped for her. Daily cleaning service. Lots of windows. No Breakfast room, which is great as you just go and grab your breakfast and take it back to your room, so breakfast in bed at no extra cost. A bit of noise in the mornings as people check out etc, as bedroom in suite close to reception, but very mangeable. Reception is not manned 24 hours, but they manage it well (i.e. for later arrival they arrange taxi pick up and we left our luggage behind on last day after we checked out and they just gave us a key so that we could easily get back in, in case no one was around).
Fantastic location. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Private Suite (Apartment) highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan, italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

When we normally go tp vienna, we always stay in hotels "old style". This time my husband decided to try this pension set in an art deco building.
Everything was superb. Modern rooms, very clean bathroom, efficient staff and unbelievable location.
We were asked if we needed anything printed, a car for the airport organised, and above all an extensive plan if our morning do that we could make the sirport on time.
I would definitely recommend and go back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location is excellent, close to Stefansplatz, Lipazzaner Riding school, the Hofburg and the shopping area. Also wide range of places to eat nearby.
We stayed in the suite which was large, spacious and very comfortable. Would have been great to be able to stay for a full week as it had its own kitchen, fridge and dining area. All very clean and also had a large bathroom.
Range of food at breakfast was great, we just helped ourselves and then ate in our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent four nights here in September of 2012, and loved the place.

However, you wouldn't know how wonderful this place is from the outside. There were two little signs, posted on a building where the pension shares rooms with several other businesses. There was no further indication that inside was a delight of Vienna.

After finding the doorway, and hobbling up the antiquated elevator, a bright red door opens onto the lobby (where brunch is served daily, no less). We had reserved the largest of the suites, and were shown the way (after a mere twenty steps) to a suite that would have gone for much more than the price we paid if it were found in one of the major hotel chains.

The suite was full functioning, with no defects in neither the kitchen nor the large bathroom.

As for the location? It's merely 100 yds to the primary shopping district in Vienna, and walking distance to most of the major attractions, as well as the metro station, that can get you anywhere else you wish to go.

The service was okay, with highs and lows, depending upon who was at the desk. We did have a problem getting clean towels after two days in, but other than that, nothing else really stood out.

Ultimately, if I were to ever visit Vienna again, I would stay here. I'm sold on the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights here last month. Our first trip to Austria. The room was large, good bed, large bathroom by European standards, great location, good breakfast. What made this place really special was the service, especially the manager Monika. I asked her to look at my train tickets to see if I had done them correctly and she told me I had made a mistake on the seat reservation part. Without having to ask her she spent 30 minutes on the phone, talking in German of course which I can't do, getting my mistake straightened out. Then, while the wife and I were out sightseeing she took a subway to the train station to pick up our corrected tickets. Again, she did this on her own. That a complete stranger would do this for us gave us such a warm feeling for Austria in general, and assured that we will only stay at A und A in Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at a und a pension. This small pension is in an excellent location in the heart of the historic centre, only minutes walk from the metro (easy to get around), cafes, the Hofburg and Spanish Riding School. The pension is a little difficult to find in the street but once located it is easy to return to.
The room was clean and modern with everything working, including good air conditioning. The room also included a refrig and safe.
Breakfast choice was adequate, eaten in your room.
Reception staff were helpful but communication in English was a little difficult.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension a und a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension a und a

Address: Habsburgergasse 3 Floor M, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the historic city centre – experience Viennese charm in our Art Nouveau house. Modern ambience in the heart of the first district:Our guesthouse is a family run hotel in the heart of Vienna. Culture, exclusive shopping, sightseeing and night life are only one step away. Creating a personal atmosphere and taking into account individual wishes of our guests is part of our service. Feel at home – enjoy breakfast in your room in a private atmosphere. Our delicious breakfast buffet is available from 7.00h to 11.00h, for late risers even until 13.00h. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pension a und a reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension a Und a Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension a und a, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.