We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite eatery in Vienna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griechenbeisl

Griechenbeisl
Fleischmarkt 11, Vienna A-1010, Austria
(0) 1 5331 977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #610 of 2,878 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“My favorite eatery in Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Awesome food, lovely music played on a traditional Viennese instrument. Our food was wonderful as was the local Austrian Red wine that our waiter recommended. I got the Spanfarkle which was as good as any I've had in Bavaria. The atmosphere is very traditional and there is quite a history to this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    188
    104
    59
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Touristtrap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Ate here last night, after a recommendation by our hotel. Food is so-so, but especially the service was horrible! No interest at all. Our waiter was busy seating other people while serving us for instance. And when one of us paid the bill and we (two others) were waiting behind, he thought we were new guests and while handling the payment he tried to seat the two of us (while we had been there for about 2 hours)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An absolute must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

You should really stop by there for dinner when in Vienna. Waiter was absolutely fantastic. Old school! Loved it! Food was excellent. Probably the best Leberknödel-Soup I ever had in my life! The restaurant itself is really nice & cozy. Amazing history in this building, since it's the oldest restaurant in Vienna. Also to add to the charm of this place, an old guy was playing the Zither in the restaurant which was simply lovely. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Realy worthy place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Traditional atmosphere. Very friendly staff. Open until 24:00 on sunday. Nice food with ttpical austrian dishes. A place to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old fashion restaurant style with money focus”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Old fashion restaurant style with money focus
This restaurant has an interior in old fashion style, which also include uncomfortable wood chairs. I and my wife came with a tourist group of 12 persons. The signboard outside the restaurant recommended Filet Mignon which I and 4 friends ordered it– a real bad choise!
When the dish entered we became disappointed - there were four simple meat pieces and four small pieces of ravioli, no vegetables! I asked for more ravioli but the waiter told me that it was enough and counted them for me! Possibly he misunderstood me? A friend of mine got the meat too bloody and told the waiter. He took it out, but when he returned there was no difference! We also ordered the same dessert, but got different types! Sorry to say: This restaurant is a tourist trap – scanty customer focus and the prices for the dishes too high! However - the billing and payment went quick!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griechenbeisl also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Griechenbeisl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griechenbeisl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.