We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scala Appartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Scala Appartment Hotel to your Saves list
La Scala Appartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Schutzengasse 19, Vienna 1030, Austria (Landstraße)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 107 Vienna B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I ve been in Vienna for 3 nights, with my wife. The room was very clean, nice furniture, with a small kitchen, with all necessary for it. The bathroom was well designed, with a nice shower cabin. Pretty central, close to Belvedere Castle, with quick acces to the tube or tram. There were no air conditioning int the room. In October it s ok without it, but in Summer, for sure, it will be an issue. The heater in the room was big enough and the temperature was confortable. The Price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 10 is pretty chic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    3
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at La Scala Apartments in Vienna for 5 nights from July 30 till August 4, 2013. The room was pretty spacious for two people with a door opening into small garden. The room was pretty well equipped with a kitchenette with all necessary utensils, some cooking ingredients (salt, pepper, olive oil and vinegar), crockery, glasses, a jug, wine glasses, knives, cutting boards, an electric cooktop with two burners, a dishwasher, a small refrigerator, an electric kettle and an electric chimney. The only thing missing was a microwave oven, which would have helped. The bathroom was clean, well designed with a nice shower enclosure and liquid soaps, shampoos and body lotion. There was a small 2-seater table with two chairs next to the window, a king size bed with side tables and lamps. There was a 30 inches TV, but the only English Channel playing was CNN and hence it was of no use to us. The wardrobe was a bit old and couldn't be locked and there were not enough hangers. There was an electronic safe in the wardrobe. Cleanliness was not up to the mark too. When we got in, the floors were very dusty. We had requested the manager to get the floor cleaned while we were away, but it was not done. The last day we spotted a large spider too on one of the walls. But the real issue here was the lack of an electric fan or air-conditioning in the room. During our stay, temperatures in Vienna soared way above 30 degrees Celsius and it was very hot in the rooms. The nights were very uncomfortable and we did not have proper sleep. Also, there is an unreasonable paranoia about light and sound in the late evenings. The first day we came back pretty late (around 10PM) from the city and were chatting in pretty low voices in the room. Because of the heat we had left the door to the garden open and the curtains were pulled apart. At around 12 midnight we got a call from the manager that there was disturbance and we should either be quiet or close the door and pull the curtains so that not sound and light goes out. Apparently someone had complained! We were pretty annoyed by this since closing the door was not an option, it being absolutely hot inside and we wanted to talk about the day and plan for the next. We ended up talking in whispers, but this incident made our stay a bit unpleasant. The manager was apologetic later about the call and said that he did not want to offend us, but apparently the residents living in the area are very fussy about noise and light after 10PM in the night. Also, except for the manager, not a single person in the staff could speak a word in English (or any other language for that matter besides their own). This made communication a bit of an issue. The location was pretty good though. It was very close (5 min walk) from the Renweg train station which falls in the train route to the airport from the city. Also, it was a 15 minutes tram ride from the city centre. So I would think this place is okay for elderly couples traveling without children, but not for travellers looking to make some merry after they are back in their hotel rooms after a day in town. And definitely not in the peak of summers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The room was great and clean. It had a kitchen counter with some appliances. The bathroom was modern and great.
They e-mailed us the code for the main gate, and when we got in we found our room with the key. The only conversation we had with a staff, was a big problem. It occured during our checkout, even though we said we will pay cash during checkout, the manager said they already charged it to the credit card which we used for reservation. When we wanted to object, he just walked away.
The hotel is located 5 mins walk to the tram station. You can easily get to the center of Vienna within half an hour.
In the end, it is a great value. Just keep in mind to read the tiny instructions while booking your room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed 1 week over February half term at this reasonably priced appartment block. It was warm, very quiet and ideal to explore Vienna! Why? You are 200 metres from Rennweg station, (a few stops from the the Vienna Airport) and also the 77A bus, the O and 71 Trams and could get anywhere in Vienna in 45 mins! My only reservation is that you are charged 40 euros for cleaning on top of the payment you make to book the room. The receptionist was excellent.
We would love to come back and use these rooms in the 3rd district again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My friend booked 2 apartments. The price was good she didn't read the small print and when it came to paying by credit card we had to pay a lot more because the small print said there was a cleaning charge. She also had a run in on the phone with the manager who was not helpful. We couldn't cancel as these apartments were non refundable. So the start was terrible. Once we got to the apartments I did the speaking as my friend was still annoyed as to what had happened. The apartments were nice and spacious literally minutes away from the metro. So location was brilliant. We managed to get around easily. It was very cold and snowing in December but the site seeing was amazing. There are a few hop on hop off services. One offered three different routes which meant we got to see so much more in a few days. Prices were similar to UK though gifts were expensive. Lots of food so one is spoilt for choice. The atmosphere was magical due to Christmas and the Xmas markets. Lots to see again definitely a country with lots of history.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Scala Appartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scala Appartment Hotel

Address: Schutzengasse 19, Vienna 1030, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Scala Appartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Scala Appartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scala Appartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.