We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and big place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Feldkirch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Feldkirch to your Saves list
Hostel Feldkirch
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Reichstrasse 111, Feldkirch 6800, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great price and big place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here the past two nights, we booked a private room which was just one of the 7 bunk rooms with no one else in there. It was a bit weird but €70 for 2 people for 2 nights was pretty great! We mainly stayed here to do a little in Feldkirch and a day in Liechtenstein, which worked out great! The bus and train station is only 10 minutes walk from the hostel and the bus to Liechtenstein is really beautiful! The hostel is across from a large hill with a wildlife park on top it only took us about 25/30 minutes to walk up it and the view is amazing from the top! The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms are separate men and women's: really new and clean, the guest kitchen was large, the backyard is beautiful and we loved the price! My only comments would be to have a better label for your food system, free towels and the wifi is only in the one room on the ground floor. Apart from that I really recommend the place!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It is an excellent youth hostel. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, characterful building, really decent breakfast, convenient location. Tiny room but comfortable and the shared bathroom was clean with good showers.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

On our stay this was our cheapest accommodation and it shows. The biggest issue was that there were NO towels included! We had to use the linen for drying us up! The distance from the station was walkable, but a bit longish - though there are frequent buses. Breakfast was not included but the extra price was worth it, as it was fairly good. I guess nobody had cleaned our room in a while. However, the lady at checkin was very nice and helpfull. You get what you pay for, as they say.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

20 mins walk from the station, along regular bus routes for the town centre. It has been a great location for cycling daytrips, as there are excellent and challenging rides in any direction.

The staff is exceptionally helpful, breakfast is a good selection. Private rooms are good value. Only downsides are that there is a lot of road noise if you're in a dorm facing the road on the first floor. Also, school groups are common. A good 20-25 minute walk to the centre, on a heavily trafficked road, so if this bothers you there are (much) more expensive options downtown.

Overall, an excellent hostel, and a charming old building next to a landmark church. Allegedly was a leper colony several centuries ago! It certainly has some creepy cellars and tunnels down below, its well worth reading about the history of the building and is a historical students dream, please ask the staff about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Fisrt of all I have to say that I enjoyed my stay in this hostel, but what in the last day was unacceptable. I was mistreated when I tried to check out. The guy, who was sleeping started yelling at me asking if I knew what time it was and if I could read because there was a sign saying it was sleeping time. Guests don't care if it's time to sleep. A hostel should be more prepared to deal with people. We pay for it. IT'S NOT A FAVOR. Other thing was the lack of knowledge about the city. No useful information was made. Anyway, I would not recomend a place where I was mistreated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As the title says I thought this hostel was fantastic. It's a short walk up from the train station and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I was in a 10 bed dorm and the beds were very comfy and you got your own locker. The room was quite small and a bit dark but nothing terrible.
The bathrooms seem very new and are very clean. The kitchen is likewise kept clean and there is even a shelf of complimentary food and drink.
There are lots of common areas to chat to people although when I was there the guests kept themselves to themselves a bit.
It's a beautiful old building, just don't be put off by the dungeon looking passage next to the front door!

Room Tip: It's a great place to stay if you want to visit Liechtenstein but there isn't a lot there. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Feldkirch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Feldkirch

Address: Reichstrasse 111, Feldkirch 6800, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Feldkirch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Feldkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Feldkirch 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where else could you be ten minutes from the principality of Liechtenstein, twenty minutes from Heidi land, forty minutes from Lake Constance, and thirty to fifty minutes from some of Europe's best ski resorts (St. Anton am Arlberg, Lech, Montafon, Brand, Laterns, Malbun...), where Ernest Hemingway used to hike and ski? Even James Bond came to town (well, parts of the new film were being filmed here)!Where else but Feldkirch? Itself a beautiful town steeped in history, complete with its castle saved by a dog, traditional street-market selling traditional foods such as sausages (for the dog), and a hostel in a recently renovated medieval building (in documents from 1362 the building was described 'as having been in existence for a long time').Located within walking distance from the railway station and local hills, and just a short bus ride or pleasant walk to the town centre, our 700-year-old hostel is steeped in its own history and we'll go out of our way to make you feel at home.Services and facilities:Lounge room Internet accessFully equipped kitchen for self cateringGame roomCable TV (international channels)LaundryTourist informationKey card for freeSki roomBBQ facilitiesFree parking for cars, busses and bikes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Feldkirch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Feldkirch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.