We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April at the Bodensee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bregenz City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bregenz City to your Saves list
Mercure Bregenz City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platz Der Wiener Symphoniker 2, Bregenz 6900, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Bregenz
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“April at the Bodensee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here for the AERO show in Friedrichshafen, which was only 30 mins away by train with a change at Lindau. The Mercure has a great location - next to station, opera house and lake shore. Very clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Very good buffet breakfast with a variety of fresh breads and local cheeses. Bregenz is an attractive town with a pedestrianised shopping centre and plenty of good cafes and restaurants. Easy direct rail connections from Bregenz to Zürich, Munich and Vienna, as well as lake steamers to a variety of desinations on the Bodensee in Switzerland and Germany.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    198
    79
    18
    15
See reviews for
50
180
52
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirribilli, Australia
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We came to Bregenz from Switzerland especially for a game of poker, and were pleasantly surprised to find our hotel literally attached to the casino, and therefore able to take advantage of the free casino parking offered to their guests. Our visit was brief and focused, though we took a lovely lake (just outside the hotel) stroll into town, and we were well pleased with the amentity, cleaniliness, friendliness of staff and a rocking buffet for Easter Sunday! Price of both the room and breakfast were fair. Our dog Daisy was also impressed by the courteous welcome extended to her and the comfortableness of the floor, and was not all surprised by the number of other 4 legged guests in the hotel. We will certainly be back to enjoy both the casino(which we found also a lovely place as far as these establishments go) and the Mercure again.

Room Tip: Facing the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Mercure in Bregenz is excellently located and easy to reach, not only if you come by car. It is right opposite the Festspielhaus (festival hall - check out the Bond movie "Quantum of Solace") and in the same building as the Bregenz Casino, and within 2-minute walking distance of the wonderful Bodensee (Lake Constance), which invites you to a stroll along the lake shore.
Service is great, very friendly staff, speaks multiple languages, very clean and friendly interior. Only the hallway floor is a little too much psychodelic, but hey,.. you won't spend much time there anyway.
Very international guests from Scandinavia, Russia, US, Japan ...
Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Perfectly located after the tunnel ( and "stau" ) in Bregenz. perfect place to stopover for a day with the family on your way to the winter sport area in Tirol. Nice hotel with all the amenities . Insider tip: They do have rooms for 5 a 6 people not on the website or know by the booking agents. Call the Hotel direct ! For you party people , next to the casino. Also next to the train station

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Very nice hotel. In a really special part of town. Next to the casino and close to the railway station. The hotel is really standard, but the staff is friendly.
The restaurant is good, but expensive. Certainly if you remember that you are in Austria.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Dear Sir ,
We had parked our car at the casino parking lot. According to your staff we can punch our ticket at the casino as we did it. Surprisingly, early in the morning we had to pay an extra charge on our parking. Later did I noticed that your hotel also have parking lot that was not mentioned by your staff even though we are staying at your hotel. At least your staff can mentioned that the hotel provides parking lot for their guest even if we have to pay for the extra charge.
Boon Chew

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here for one night during the Bregenz Opera: We found the hotel to be mediacore at best. Although the location is very good (but very difficult to fine), right in front of the opera house and outdoor stage, there is a lot to be desired.

Rooms are small (tiny) even for European standards. Breakfast was OK, with extremely bad service ("no, we cannot offer you a table while your partner is still powdering up in the room" - and "no, we don't have any more croissants" (at 09:00 AM), with the hotel fully booked).

It all has a very 80's feel, with yellow wood and reds. Also for this price: there are far better properties in the city (Four Points Dornbrinn is an excellent choice).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bregenz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bregenz City

Address: Platz Der Wiener Symphoniker 2, Bregenz 6900, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Bregenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bregenz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bregenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bregenz City 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
94 rooms ideally located in the cultural city of Bregenz at Lake of Constance. The hotel is near the Casino, the concert hall and the railway station. Easy access to motorways. The Hotel offers a restaurant, terrace, meeting rooms and parking. MetronetWLAN Hotspots are available. Start your day with our excellent breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Bregenz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bregenz City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bregenz City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.