We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We sadly felt the 'new' Lamm had lost something” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lamm, Hotel Garni Bregenz

Lamm, Hotel Garni Bregenz
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lamm, Hotel Garni Bregenz to your Saves list
Lamm, Hotel Garni Bregenz
Mehrerauerstrasse 51, Bregenz 6900, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Bregenz B&B and Inns
Aberchirder
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We sadly felt the 'new' Lamm had lost something”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Gasthof Lamm is located out of town but easy to access by car, with ample free parking, while the town centre is a 15-minute walk or 5-minute bus ride away. We were warmly welcomed by the lady in the reception area in the recently added hotel block, and on reaching the Pension Vevi along the street found it had also been recently redecorated. Our room was not large but we had plenty of space, and the bathroom was well appointed although the shower was in the bath and had no curtain. Breakfast in the main dining-room offered a very good buffet and adequately strong jug coffee. Evening meals featured a varied menu including local specialities and were very well cooked and presented, and a good house wine came at 18 Euros a litre.
So far, all positive. And yet we felt something was missing. On our first of many visits 20 years ago Gasthof Lamm was a homely family-run place filled with characters (locals and staff) and individual travellers. We were interested to see what the 'new' Lamm was like and sadly felt that it had lost something. In particular three coach-loads of tourists were in residence with the result that in the evenings from 6 to 8 pm staff were totally involved in serving set three-course meals, leaving individual guests to wait for attention regarding drinks and meals. Our stay may have been unfortunately timed, but we simply felt overlooked. We look forward to reading future reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed for one night in this Guesthouse in Bregenz. It´s located out of the city centre but not too far from the open-air opera house where the Bregenzer Festpiele take place in summer and it´s 1km distance to the lake. I stayed in the newest part of the building where rooms are modern, big and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, too.
The family restaurant serves both sophisticated dishes and more traditional ones in a very familiar environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife & I travelled with another couple to Bregenz (located on Lake Constance) to stay for 3 nites. The Family Shenk own the property which has a long history of serving quality food & providing rooms for visitors. They have added 'new' lodging attached to the restaurant. Rooms are immaculate & very modern (with gorgeous wood doors) Very authentic Austrian experience because they don't get the heavy tour traffic like Innsbruck, Vienna etc. Was difficult communicating as hardly anyone spoke English, but was fun trying to figure it out! Finally, one of the owners, Peter, was summoned & he assisted us greatly. He even helped order the local fresh fish from Lake Constance, and another evening he procured thick Venison Steaks for us....tender & great taste. Walking distance to beautiful Lake Constance (which has flowerscaped sidewalk/bike trails to enjoy the Lake views), and is a short distance to the Cable Car transporting guests to the top of Pflander Mountain.

Room Tip: Large windows (that open) face the Alps. Also, the Family Shenk raise & race carriage horses, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

A little out of town, but on the local bus route (€2,30 for a day pass), the hotel is well positioned for those attending the Opera, which is a 15 minute stroll eastwards along the lake. Otherwise most of the local attractions are on the other side of town.
The extension is relatively new and the rooms are roomy, but simply furnished. The plain but the functional bathroom is the largest I have seen in a while, with a large walk-in shower. Average comfort bed.
No internet connection
Simple breakfast, meats, cheese, boiled eggs
Good value at the small inconvenience of not being in the town

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We wanted to spend the night in Lindau or Konstanz, but our budget wouldn't allow us to do so. Luckily I found the this hotel that just barely squeaked by for our budget (being anywhere close to the Bodensee is expensive, I found). We paid 78 euros for a double room with in-room shower.

We arrived around 7 pm. There were many folks checking in, and I remembered very quickly from high school German classes that Austrian German is a wee bit different than what I learned in school! Luckily I was able to observed a few interactions while waiting to boost my confidence. At the desk, we were able to quickly sign in and gain our room key. We found that our room was not in the hotel itself, but in their guesthouse a few blocks down. I wasn't sure that I fully understood the directions, so I asked for the desk person to draw it out on a map (which they very nicely did).

Instead of going straight to the room, we decided to stop and have dinner at the restaurant at the hotel. Surprisingly, it turned out to be one of our better meals from our trip! After spending about 10 minutes figuring out the menu. our waiter informed us that they were out of almost everything due to a large tour bus group (or at least that's what I think he said). No worries...we ended up with some of the most delicious schnitzel I've ever had! With two cokes, our bill was around 25 euros.

By the time we were done, it had gotten dark. The area near the guesthouse is not very well lit, but luckily, we were able to find it on the second loop. We had room 11 on the top floor (2 flights of stairs). It was very clean and the wood furniture seemed very new. The bathroom was a bit old and needed a good scrubbing, but it was fine for a night. There was a very old TV, but it worked. The room was quiet and we slept well.

Breakfast the next morning was just okay. The orange juice was the worst we had this trip, but the selection of breakfast items was good (many breads, cheeses, meats)...coffee had milk and cream. We checked out very quickly and were on our way.

The only real downside is that you can't really see the Bodensee from the hotel (or, at the minimum, the cloudy weather meant that we couldn't) and the hotel is off the beaten path a bit. You have to drive through almost all of Bregenz to what appears to be a very residential neighborhood, about a mile from the casino. It is only about 5-10 minutes from the interstate, though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamm, Hotel Garni Bregenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamm, Hotel Garni Bregenz

Address: Mehrerauerstrasse 51, Bregenz 6900, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Bregenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bregenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lamm, Hotel Garni Bregenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamm, Hotel Garni Bregenz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.