We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski kitzbuhel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Hechenmoos

Gasthof Hechenmoos
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gasthof Hechenmoos to your Saves list
Gasthof Hechenmoos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pass-Thurn-Strasse 74 | Aurach bei Kitzbühel, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Writtle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ski kitzbuhel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

What a friendly hotel. Brigit is wonderful host. This hotel is full of Austrian charm ideally located to get to all the local slopes by bus or car. The run back to the hotel is the best in Kitzbuhel. I caught the bus each day and skied back to the hotel door step using the Giggling. I can't await to get back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darrington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We usually stay in the centre of Kitzbuhel, however we couldn't get in so booked Gasthof Hechenmoos and we're extremely pleased that we found such a lovely hotel. The Ski bus runs directly outside the hotel and only takes 5 mins. The hotel is typically Austrian and provides a very comfortable stay. It serves beautiful local dishes that were of a very high standard.The staff were particularly friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. They go out of their way to provide a personal touch to your stay. Overall, the hotel is extremely good value for money, providing excellent accommodation and food and a warm welcome. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visited the gasthof for dinner. The staff is okay and the menu has enough choice. The kitchen is traditional Austrian. The restaurant needs a litte make-over (it looks old). The prices are low. You receive good value for low prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is a great, no nonsense gasthof with extremely friendly and helpful staff. The service is great, it is pretty close to Kitzbuehel and the rooms are clean. Needs a little refurbishing, but excellent value for money! And there is free wireless Internet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Rooms were booked on short notice (only 1 month in advance) and initially we though that would suffer some troubles because of service or equipment,
but actual staying there shift our expectations and we enjoyed it.

Those who like spending most of time inside of hotel will not like it, but those who have active rest and most time spend outside (skiing for example) will like its comfortable and traditional atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrieanndavies
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

The Holiday was booked through the internet and then with Thomson. We were late booking so we had Allocation on arrival we were willing to take the gamble as we wanted to be away for new years.
Our holidays reps were Crystal Ski who i have to say were absolutly appaling and we didnt see once during the week there.

The hotel is quietly located on the roadside about 1.5-2miles from Kitzbuhel. Free ski bus Stop right outside hotel which is very convienient. Busses run regular but wouldnt always follow the bus times as did stand at the bus stop for an hour on 2 occasions.
The hotel is Clean and tidy, no complains there, the maid came to room every day and changed bed once in middle of stay. Room also had a TV, all german channels apart from Eurosport which was better than nothing. No tea and coofee facities in room so we took our own.
Breakfast was good, (continental) Fresh bread, meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt the occasional boil egg and as much tea and coffee as you can drink.
For a 2* Hotel there is no complaints, only down fall is the location, as on roadside evening strolls not recommended.
We used to catch the last bus into Kitzbuhel and bet a taxi back which was approx 12euros.
Hotel eveniong meals were okay all german menu.

  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

The hotel is conveniently located a short distance from the bottom of a ski run off the hahnenkarm

hotel lacks a little tyrolean charm more evident in skivillages which may be due to the roadside location in a quiet area.

There is nothing else at all to do in the evening in Aurach but stay in the bar of the hotel and nowhere to walk out to apart from along a main road.

room i stayed in had no tv or bathroom and had one tiny window near the ceiling which could not be looked out of unless standing on a chair! - if skiing is all you have in mind and hotel comfort is not important then it was fine for a place to sleep.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gasthof Hechenmoos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hechenmoos

Address: Pass-Thurn-Strasse 74 | Aurach bei Kitzbühel, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Hechenmoos 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gasthof Hechenmoos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Hechenmoos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.