We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place with great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ludwig

Hotel Ludwig
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitzbuhel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ludwig
Save
You added Hotel Ludwig to your Saves list
Marchfeldgasse 6, Kitzbuhel, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming place with great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I where very pleased with our stay at Hotel Ludwig. It's clean, comfortable and charming. Our room included a small kitchen, but we didn't use it at all, nice breakfast downstairs prepared by Walter, the attentive owner, and just a five min walk to various restaurants is why.
It was important for us to have a quiet spot close to the main lift, Ludwig is just that.
Walter even organised skicards for us, no que or hazzle, just walked over to the lift and up we went.
I hope I will be able to return one day, both to Kitzbuhel and Hotel Ludwig.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hotel Ludwig is the jewel in Kitzbuhel's crown, it's clean, comfortable, warm and friendly. The friendly part is supplied by Walter the attentive owner. We had no complaints apart from our headaches which were all of our own making. Hotel Ludwig is suitable for groups (as we were), families or couples and is in a quiet spot but close to the main lift.
Walter will organise everything for you and can boil the perfect egg.
Kitzbuhel is much better value than the big French resorts, the bars and restaurants are run well with friendly English speaking staff and there is plenty to do such as swim, skate or go to the Ice Hockey.
I really can't see us skiing anywhere else other than Kitzbuhel and Hotel Ludwig in future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

thinking about our holiday in Kitzbühel, we definiteley have to point out that our stay at the Hotel Ludwig made our trip unique.
It is a beautiful property owned by Walter and Maria who offer as mentioned in previous reviews an outstanding service from arrival to departure.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel is in walking distance (about 5 minutes) to the centre and to the Hahnenkamm (about 3 minutes)
The breakfast buffet offers a big choice of local products, complimentary W-Lan in your room, the sauna as well as a ski room with heating for your boots are excellent features which make your stay just perfect. I would highly reccommend "Hotel Ludwig" and we can't wait for another trip to Kitz.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We were a group of 8 that stayed with Walter at Ludwig in March. The hotel was excellent and 4 of the group stayed with one of Walter's apartments in town that was 2 minutes walk from the cable car and right in centre of the town. We would highly recommend the hotel and apartment. For location it cant be better and Walter was a great host letting us have shower etc after 2pm on the last day after skiing. Id also recommen Take 5 nightclub for some Eurotrash partying. Very late but great. Londoner, The Highway and Jimmy's all good too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs, UK
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

Recently stayed at the Hotel Ludwig. Good location close to the Hannenkam lift and not far from the centre. Very quiet. The hotel is basic but the beds are comfortable. We felt it was over priced for the standard of accommodation. Walter is helpful but a little inflexible. Be wary of his precious toaster! He will organise taxi's, reservations etc which is good but we weren't allowed to order take away or dry our clothes! The heating never seems to be on so after a wet days skiing its a little difficult to get dry! On the whole we had a pleasant trip but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

I have to agree with the previous reviews, Walter really does make your stay a pleasure. The hotel is in a nice quiet position just a few minutes stroll to the town centre and the Hannenkahm lift. The rooms are all nice and clean and decorated in the typical Austrian style. We enjoyed the breakfast which was self service with plenty of choice. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

I booked this Hotel at the last minute, and I must agree with the other reviews that I have read. The owner, Walter went of his way to make our stay enjoyable. He was full of advice and even brought our key which we had forgotten to the pub when the apres ski went on a bit long. The hotel is close to the lift,train and village, 5 mins walk. I think that it would suit couples and families rather then big groups. The rooms are excellent, clean and bright. I travel a lot and do not write reviews, but in this instance I thought that Walter and his hotel deserved it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Ludwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ludwig

Address: Marchfeldgasse 6, Kitzbuhel, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Ludwig Hotel Kitzbühel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ludwig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.